To the Power of Three

  • by Laura Lippman
  • Narrated by Alexandra O'Karma
  • 14 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

There are excellent reasons why New York Times best-selling author Laura Lippman has won the Edgar®, Agatha, Anthony, Nero Wolfe, and every other major award the mystery genre has to offer. To the Power of Three is just one of those reasons. Lippman's brilliant and disturbing tale of three inseparable high school girlfriends in an affluent Baltimore suburb who share dark secrets literally until death, To the Power of Three is this "writing powerhouse" (USA Today), who has "exploded the boundaries of the mystery genre to become one of the most significant social realists of our time" (Madison Smartt Bell) operating at the very top of her game. Not merely crime fiction, but fiction that gets to the deep psychological, emotional, and human roots of a terrible crime, Lippman's novel is one that will not be easily forgotten - a must-listen for fans of Kate Atkinson, Tana French, Jodi Picoult, and Harlan Coben.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Worst narration ever.

The narrator suffers from dry mouth and possibly asthma, since you hear her every inhalation. It was really annoying, but I like Laura Lippman's writing so I listened to it all. Had I realized another narrator read an abridged version, I probably would have bought it instead.
Read full review

- W. Spradlin "Wendy"

Disappointing, terrible narration

When I purchased To the Power of Three I didn't realize it was published in 2005. I've read a lot of Laura Lippmann books and liked them all. Thank goodness I didn't read this first. There's a reason it was just released in audio— it's slow. Maybe even dull. "Maybe" because the narration is so dull it's hard to tell if the book itself is dull or just in need of editing. It's even possible that with the right narrator the audio version could have improved upon the print version. But alas, the chosen narrator is just awful. Slow. Dull. Monotonous. Sleep-inducing. Same voice for every character.

To make things worse, the production quality is also terrible. For long stretches we hear the narrator's deep inhales and gulping swallows. Some chapters run into each other without pause and others break with such long silences I found myself checking to see if I'd hit the pause button accidentally.

I was ready to stop and return the book multiple times but just couldn't believe a Laura Lippman audiobook could be this hard to listen to! And periodically the narrator's pace would pick up a bit and the embarrassing, wet background noises would disappear, giving me hope after all! For awhile. Then back to the slow monotone and personal moments.

Take my advice— pass on this one. Audible, I wasted a credit on this. You should have insisted on a do-over before stocking this Laura Lippmann novel. I feel taken advantage of.
Read full review

- motoJill "motoJill"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-12-2016
  • Publisher: HarperAudio