Regular price: $31.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

There are excellent reasons why New York Times best-selling author Laura Lippman has won the Edgar®, Agatha, Anthony, Nero Wolfe, and every other major award the mystery genre has to offer. To the Power of Three is just one of those reasons. Lippman's brilliant and disturbing tale of three inseparable high school girlfriends in an affluent Baltimore suburb who share dark secrets literally until death, To the Power of Three is this "writing powerhouse" (USA Today), who has "exploded the boundaries of the mystery genre to become one of the most significant social realists of our time" (Madison Smartt Bell) operating at the very top of her game. Not merely crime fiction, but fiction that gets to the deep psychological, emotional, and human roots of a terrible crime, Lippman's novel is one that will not be easily forgotten - a must-listen for fans of Kate Atkinson, Tana French, Jodi Picoult, and Harlan Coben.
©2009 Laura Lippman (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By W. Spradlin on 08-09-16

Worst narration ever.

The narrator suffers from dry mouth and possibly asthma, since you hear her every inhalation. It was really annoying, but I like Laura Lippman's writing so I listened to it all. Had I realized another narrator read an abridged version, I probably would have bought it instead.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful


By motoJill on 07-31-16

Disappointing, terrible narration

When I purchased To the Power of Three I didn't realize it was published in 2005. I've read a lot of Laura Lippmann books and liked them all. Thank goodness I didn't read this first. There's a reason it was just released in audio— it's slow. Maybe even dull. "Maybe" because the narration is so dull it's hard to tell if the book itself is dull or just in need of editing. It's even possible that with the right narrator the audio version could have improved upon the print version. But alas, the chosen narrator is just awful. Slow. Dull. Monotonous. Sleep-inducing. Same voice for every character.

To make things worse, the production quality is also terrible. For long stretches we hear the narrator's deep inhales and gulping swallows. Some chapters run into each other without pause and others break with such long silences I found myself checking to see if I'd hit the pause button accidentally.

I was ready to stop and return the book multiple times but just couldn't believe a Laura Lippman audiobook could be this hard to listen to! And periodically the narrator's pace would pick up a bit and the embarrassing, wet background noises would disappear, giving me hope after all! For awhile. Then back to the slow monotone and personal moments.

Take my advice— pass on this one. Audible, I wasted a credit on this. You should have insisted on a do-over before stocking this Laura Lippmann novel. I feel taken advantage of.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Melissa on 08-23-16

Great story ruined by appalling narration

What would have made To the Power of Three better?

A good narrator.

What other book might you compare To the Power of Three to, and why?

I can't think of any off hand but it is an excellent story that I wish I'd waited to read rather than listen to.

Would you be willing to try another one of Alexandra O'Karma’s performances?

I would rather chew off my right arm.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Anger and depression because of the narration. Disappointment that an excellent story was spoiled by such dreadful narration.

Any additional comments?

This actress should not be narrating audiobooks. Perhaps she's good on stage or on screen but her pace of narration, the odd tone and the depressing and soporific effect of her voice, completely destroyed any pleasure I might have taken in listening to this story.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc