To Kingdom Come : Barker & Llewelyn Series

  • by Will Thomas
  • Narrated by Antony Ferguson
  • Series: Barker & Llewelyn Series
  • 9 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When a bomb destroys the Special Irish Branch of Scotland Yard, all fingers point to the increasingly brazen factions of Irish dissidents seeking liberation from English rule. Volunteering their services to the British government, Cyrus Barker and Thomas Llewelyn set out to infiltrate a secret cell of the Irish Republican Brotherhood known as the Invisibles. Posing as a reclusive German bomb maker and his anarchist apprentice, they are recruited for the group's ultimate plan: to bring London to its knees and end the monarchy forever.
Their adventures take them from an abandoned lighthouse on the craggy coast of Wales to the City of Light, where Llewelyn goes undercover with Maire O'Casey, the alluring sister of an Irish radical. Llewelyn again finds himself put to the test by his enigmatic employer as he is schooled in the deadly science of bomb making. Fraught with explosives, secret initiations, and vicious stick fights, and featuring historical figures such as Charles Parnell and W. B. Yeats, To Kingdom Come is a riveting sequel to Some Danger Involved.


What the Critics Say

"A successful blend of fiction and fact, this is - as expected - expertly researched and skillfully plotted, with satisfying amounts of emotion (with a growing friendship between Barker and Llewelyn) and suspense." (Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I enjoyed this book and the first in the series. This is one series I recommend you read in order or you will not understand some of the under tones of the characters. I do feel sorry for Lewellyn. He gets beat up ALL THE TIME. I think the author could give him a break in the next story. The characters are quirky but written in a way that makes them authentic. .

I also think these would make a great tv series.
Read full review

- Ms Peach

Fell asleep for 2 hrs and missed nothing

It was a decent book but nothing extraordinary.
Around middle to 2/3 through it just dragged.
Read full review

- ner_do_well

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-27-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio