Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times best-selling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.
Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander.
The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss - who's been avoiding him - is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values - and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is.
©2014 Deborah Crombie (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Janet H. Maddox on 11-06-14

I confess; I'm a huge fan!

I have loved every one of Deborah Crombie's books since I read the first few in print some years ago. While I certainly have favorites, none have disappointed. But this latest, happily anticipated and awaited continuation of the story of Duncan and Gemma has satisfied in every way, way beyond expectations. The characters continue to develop in interesting ways, and this particular story segment is timely and well crafted. I find myself so enjoying the story that I want to hurry along, and at the same time I want to go slowly, holding off on completing the story and savoring every part. Sweet dilemma.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Keenan on 10-02-14

Gold Standard

What did you love best about To Dwell in Darkness?

Deborah Crombie once again embroiders a touching yet suspenseful story.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Melody. She has her own interesting set of issues and seems to have been most deeply changed by the events of this story. I'm wondering how she'll fare.

What does Gerard Doyle bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The English spirit infused in the story. I'd be reading it with an American point of view and might miss things which he emphasizes.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Neither. It's not that kind of book. It's sit on the edge of your seat king of book.

Any additional comments?

Can't wait for next one.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews