To Davy Jones Below : Daisy Dalrymple

  • by Carola Dunn
  • Narrated by Lucy Rayner
  • Series: Daisy Dalrymple
  • 8 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In late 1926, the newly married Daisy Dalrymple and Detective Chief Inspector Alec Fletcher of Scotland Yard take an ocean voyage to America for their honeymoon. Daisy and Alec are accompanied by Daisy's childhood friend, Phillip Petrie; his wife, Gloria; and Gloria's father, American millionaire industrialist Caleb P. Arbuckle, and all are looking forward to a pleasant, uneventful trip.
But at the last minute they are joined by Arbuckle's new friend, Yorkshire millionaire Jethro Gotobed, and his new wife, Wanda - a showgirl whom all but Gotobed are convinced is a gold digger of the worst sort. Then, having barely lifted anchor, the ocean liner is beset by a series of suspicious accidents and deaths. With harsh weather and rough seas putting many out of commission due to seasickness - including Alec - it soon falls to Daisy to figure out what connection there might be between the seemingly unrelated incidents. Convinced that there's a murderer aboard ship, Daisy must unmask the culprit or culprits before she or anyone else falls victim.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Story Satisfying; Narrator Not

I enjoy the Daisy Dalrymple mysteries, but I needed to force myself to finish this performance. The narrator uses painfully high pitches for some of the female characters and artificially lowered pitches for male characters. The reason I gave as many as two stars to the performance is that Rayner paces her reading well and articulates clearly. However, I will avoid any book she narrates in the future.
Read full review

- Marcelyn

Good Story but Awful Narrator

Any additional comments?

I listened to the first few books in this series and then read Rattle His Bones on Kindle.
I bought this one on Audible and was sorry to find out that the narrator had changed. The voices of many of the characters are so shrill that I just want to cringe. She also changes the sound volume a great deal, almost whispering some times and then shrieking. It really made it very difficult to listen to this book. I'm going back to Kindle for the rest of the series.

Read full review

- Susan J.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-08-2016
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.