Time of Fog and Fire : Molly Murphy Mysteries

  • by Rhys Bowen
  • Narrated by Nicola Barber
  • Series: Molly Murphy Mysteries
  • 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Molly Murphy Sullivan's husband, Daniel, a police captain in turn-of-the-century New York City, is in a precarious position. The new police commissioner wants him off the force altogether. So when Daniel's offered an assignment from John Wilkie, head of the Secret Service, he's eager to accept.
Molly can't draw any details of the assignment out of him, even where he'll be working. But when she spots him in San Francisco during a movie news segment, she starts to wonder if he's in even more danger than she had first believed. And then she receives a strange and cryptic letter from him, leading her to conclude that he wants her to join him in San Francisco. Molly knows that if Daniel's turning to her rather than John Wilkie or his contacts in the police force, something must have gone terribly wrong. What can she do for him that the police can't? Especially when she doesn't even know what his assignment is?
Embarking on a cross-country journey with her young son, Molly can't fathom what's in store for her, but she knows it might be dangerous - in fact, it might put all of their lives at risk.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Absolutely marvelous; what a wonderful novel!

NO ONE tells a better mystery story than Rhys Bowen. Listening to one of her books, be it a Mollie Murphy mystery or a Lady Georgie//Royal Spyness mystery, always brings me great enjoyment and pleasure. I love her writing! Bowen and Jacqueline Winspear, who writes the wonderful Maisie Dibbs mysteries, are the grand dames of modern British mystery authors. One can never go wrong by choosing a book by Rhys Bowen or Jacqueline Winspear. (Winspear's next Maisie Dobbs mystery will be released on March 29, 2016 and is now available for pre-order at Audible.)

Time of Fog and Fire is set in 1906 in New York and San Francisco. Molly Murphy Sullivan, her husband (New York policeman) Daniel Sullivan, and their 18 month old son Liam find themselves in San Francisco during the great earthquake of 1906.

Nicola Barber narrates beautifully!

This book and all in the Molly Murphy series as well as all those in the Lady Georgie/Royal Spyness series have my unconditional and complete recommendation for those who love mysteries.

Read full review

- Wayne

Another Fun Adventure!

It’s hard to properly review the 16th installment of a series - if you’re already a fan and have made it this far in the series, you don’t need any feedback because you’ll read every new book no matter what!

All I can offer is the same advice as what I wrote for Book 15: If this is your first Molly-Book then stop right now and start with Book 1; it's totally worth it.

I’m hooked and ready for Book 17 :)
Read full review

- Simone

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-01-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios