Thunderball : James Bond: The Collection

  • by Ian Fleming
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • Series: James Bond: The Collection
  • 7 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

James Bond is in disgrace. His medical report is critical of the high living that is ruining his health, and M packs him off for a fortnight to a health farm to be tuned up to his former pitch of exceptional fitness. Bond expects a trying two weeks. The last thing he expects is an adversary more deadly, more ruthless even, than SMERSH.Thunderball is an incredible adventure, one which finds James Bond tackling SPECTRE. Operating in the Gulf Stream, this daring crime ring has perpetrated the most arrogant blackmail demand ever attempted.


What the Critics Say

"If you wish to steal atom bombs, this is how you must do it! Fleming's mastery of detail enables the reader to suspend disbelief." (Sunday Telegraph)
"Thunderball is a terrific book....excellent characterizations, is extremely moody and dark in tone, and full of dynamic action." (Raymond Benson, author of High Time to Kill)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


The action-oriented espionage classics by Ian Fleming are always an enjoyable read, or in this case, listen. The audio is great, and the narrator's voice and accent create an enthralling, believable production of the literature.
Read full review


A classic

What made the experience of listening to Thunderball the most enjoyable?

Simon Vance's performance is excellent, and the story has all the classic Bond elements of fast paced action and interesting characters.

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

It's a good story, one of the best of the Bonds.

Which scene was your favorite?

The underwater fight scene is a classic.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It was my second listen, so no visceral reaction this time. It was, however, quite a fun listen.

Read full review

- M. A. Moody

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-10-2006
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.