Threat Vector : Jack Ryan (publication order)

  • by Tom Clancy, Mark Greaney
  • Narrated by Lou Diamond Phillips
  • Series: Jack Ryan (publication order)
  • 18 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Jack Ryan has only just moved back into the Oval Office when he is faced with a new international threat. An aborted coup in the People's Republic of China has left President Wei Zhen Lin with no choice but to agree with the expansionist policies of General Su Ke Quiang. They have declared the South China Sea a protectorate and are planning an invasion of Taiwan. The Ryan administration is determined to thwart China’s ambitions, but the stakes are dangerously high as a new breed of powerful Chinese anti-ship missiles endanger the US Navy's plans to protect the island.
Meanwhile, Chinese cyber-warfare experts have launched a devastating attack on American infrastructure. It's a new combat arena, but it’s every bit as deadly as any that has gone before. Jack Ryan, Jr., and his colleagues at the Campus may be just the wild card that his father needs to stack the deck. There's just one problem: someone knows about the off-the-books intelligence agency and threatens to blow their cover sky high.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Needs an Editor

Went on vacation with my wife. We both like to listen to books, but have different tastes. She is a huge Clancy fan and I am ok with him. She has read all the Clancy books written, I have just read "Hunt For Red October". She said this was not Clancy's best, but she would give it four stars. I found it a little too long, sometimes boring, but very informative. we both agreed that an editor was needed.

Once a writer gets as famous as Clancy if he writes about pigs farting then an editor is scared to say anything and pigs farting gets published and probably becomes a best seller. In this book are some scenes that just go on and on and on. For instance there is a scene that involves a gun fight in a strip bar. It takes up about 2 hours of listening and four or five chapters. Some Clancy fans may love this, but I thought it went on too long.

As someone who easily gets confused by different characters, who they are and what they are doing in the story, I found I had none of that as a problem. Clancy builds his characters well enough that you know who they are even if you don't hear from them for hours or chapters. I enjoyed the China politics where my wife thought that was boring. I am more of a political junkie then she is. Some may think this story of computer hacking by different countries may not be realistic, while I believe it is happening as we speak. I seem to remember stories about it during the Clinton Presidency.

While I had no problem knowing who the different characters were, I did get a little confused on the whole story and all the in's and out's of all the back stabbing, spying, twist and turns, while my wife had no problem keeping up, even though she fell asleep during some of it. She was tired, and does not travel well.

I don't believe you must read any of the other books to follow this story, but my wife enjoyed knowing what certain characters did in previous books. Unless this is on sale, I would suggest you read them in order for a slightly more pleasurable experience.

LDP is a good narrator, I was surprised.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

The Clancy that gave us Clear & Present...

This was the most intriguing Clancy novel in a long time. The very real threat of the Chinese, (see yesterday's headlines of Japan and China) and cyber warfare is as fascinating as it is threatening. No one researches better than Clancy and few know military operations and capabilities more than him.

Better still, the suspense in this novel is top rate, on the same level as his earlier novels. Lou Diamond Phillips is the perfect choice for this work. His characterizations are spot on.

In his recent works, Clancy has been criticized for his politics. This is not the case with this book at all.
Read full review

- Charles Atkinson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-04-2012
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio