This Was a Man : Clifton Chronicles

  • by Jeffrey Archer
  • Narrated by Alex Jennings
  • Series: Clifton Chronicles
  • 12 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This Was a Man opens with a shot being fired, but who pulled the trigger, and who lives and who dies?
In Whitehall, Giles Barrington discovers the truth about his wife, Karin, from the cabinet secretary. Is she a spy or a pawn in a larger game?
Harry Clifton sets out to write his magnum opus while his wife, Emma, completes her 10 years as chairman of the Bristol Royal Infirmary and receives an unexpected call from Margaret Thatcher offering her a job.
Sebastian Clifton becomes chairman of Farthings Kaufman bank, but only after Hakim Bishara has to resign for personal reasons. Sebastian and Samantha's talented daughter, Jessica, is expelled from the Slade School of Fine Art, but her aunt Grace comes to her rescue.
Meanwhile, Lady Virginia is about to flee the country to avoid her creditors when the Duchess of Hertford dies, and she sees another opportunity to clear her debts and finally trump the Cliftons and Barringtons.
In a devastating twist, tragedy engulfs the Clifton family when one of them receives a shocking diagnosis that will throw all their lives into turmoil.
This Was a Man is the captivating final installment of the Clifton Chronicles, a seven-part series that has topped best-seller lists around the world and enhanced Jeffrey Archer's reputation as a master storyteller.
Longtime series narrator Alex Jennings returns for Archer's final installment of the Clifton Chronicles. On Be Careful What You Wish For, AudioFile says, "Alex Jennings's skillful narration deftly unveils the large cast of characters as they maneuver through the nonstop action...Jennings connects with each character for a satisfying, enjoyable listen."


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Let's face it, this series should have been... least two novels shorter. I was prepared to hate This Was a Man, but try as I may doing so was impossible. The highlight of the novel, indeed the highlight of the series, is Giles Barrington's eulogy to his lifelong friend Harry Clifton, the last 15 minutes of this novel. The best quote of many excellent ones from the eulogy, "He fell in love with my sister Emma. I thought he could do better."

The other books in this series all end in cliffhanger situations, so they must be read in order. The Clifton Chronicles are historical fiction starting in the 1920s and ending 7 decades later. It is a tribute to author Jeffrey Archer that t is easy to forget that Lady Emma Barrington Clifton and Harry Clifton are fictional characters.
Read full review

- Wayne "I love espionage, legal, and detective thrillers but listen to most genres. Very frequent reviews. No plot spoilers! Please excuse my typos!"

A fitting conclusion to an amazing series

Jeffery Archer will be heralded as one of the greatest novelists of our day. I never write reviews fearing that I will sound unintelligent and not wanting to waste the time of those who rely on these to determine whether or not to invest their time in a book. I decided to in this case because after completing this series I felt it was my duty to add my voice to the many others asking people to take the time. I can not find the words to describe my appreciation for this work and recommend it to anyone and everyone that happens upon it.
Read full review

- TP

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-08-2016
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio