This Bitter Treasure

  • by S. W. Hubbard
  • Narrated by Janelle Tedesco
  • 8 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A dying invalid...a house full of treasures...a family haunted by tragedy.
Mystery and heartbreak await estate sale organizer Audrey Nealon when she accepts a lucrative new job in a posh New Jersey town. Eager to settle their mother's estate and close the door on their elegant family home, the Eskew children hire Audrey to run an estate sale as their mother lies dying, tended by a home health aide. Every day Audrey works in the house, she discovers another valuable artwork and another family secret. How did the adored oldest son die? What's wrong with the strange younger sister? Who is making off with rare books, antique silver, and vintage ball gowns? Most of all, how reliable are the dying woman's deathbed ramblings?
As Audrey learns about the Eskew family's tortured past, she's forced to confront her own feelings about marriage and children. And when a murderer strikes, Audrey's sense of justice compels her to defend the defenseless, no matter the risk to herself. Fans of Ninie Hammon and C. J. Lyons will enjoy this twist-ending mystery with a strong female sleuth and plenty of antiques, dogs, and humor.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Favorite Book of the Series!

Any additional comments?

I loved book one in this series; I liked book two; Book three just curled my toes!

This was a really good mystery with a narrator that could do no wrong. The intersecting story lines and the cast of characters were well-written and very well-narrated. I loved that Ty and his family had a role in this story (not so much in book two.) I loved that Audrey and Sean finally get together. I. Loved. Every. Little. Thing.

I think if anything was missing it's with Audrey's Dad. In book one, he had a stroke. He still has traces of it in his speech in this book but it wasn't explained. I knew why he had the vocal oddity so I hope the narrator does not get zinged for that. Other than that, after listening to books one and two, sit back and enjoy all of the pieces coming together in this listen.

Read full review

- Dee

Awesome Listen!!!

Both the author and narrator are new to me on this book. I loved all of the suspense in this book and found it to be interesting along with thrilling. This book is totally original and deals with many real life issues in a psychologically thrilling manner with some humor interspersed into it and a murder too. The narrator did a fantastic performance with the various voices she did. This book is part of a series, but I found it to be an awesome standalone listen. I was voluntarily provided with this review copy audiobook at no charge by the author, narrator, and/or publisher.
Read full review

- Jan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-31-2017
  • Publisher: S.W. Hubbard