There Came Both Mist and Snow : Inspector Appleby

  • by Michael Innes
  • Narrated by Matt Addis
  • Series: Inspector Appleby
  • 7 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Stunning Belrive Priory, consisting of a mansion, park, and medieval ruins, is surrounded by the noise and neon signs of its gaudy neighbours - a cotton-mill, a brewery, and a main road. Nevertheless, Arthur Ferryman is pleased to return for a family Christmas, but is shocked to discover that his cousins have taken up a new pastime - pistol-shooting. Inspector Appleby arrives on the scene when one of Ferryman's cousins is found shot dead in the study, in a mystery built on family antagonisms.
Born in Edinburgh in 1906, the son of the city's Director of Education, John Innes Mackintosh Stewart wrote a highly successful series of mystery stories under the pseudonym Michael Innes. Innes was educated at Oriel College, Oxford, where he was presented with the Matthew Arnold Memorial Prize and named a Bishop Frazer's scholar. After graduation he went to Vienna, to study Freudian psychoanalysis for a year and following his first book, an edition of Florio's translation of Montaigne, was offered a lectureship at the University of Leeds. In 1932 he married Margaret Hardwick, a doctor, and they subsequently had five children including Angus, also a novelist.
The year 1936 saw Innes as professor of English at the University of Adelaide, during which tenure he wrote his first mystery story, Death at the President's Lodging. With his second, Hamlet Revenge, Innes firmly established his reputation as a highly entertaining and cultivated writer. After the end of World War II, Innes returned to the UK and spent two years at Queen's University, Belfast, where in 1949 he wrote the Journeying Boy, a novel notable for the richly comedic use of an Irish setting. He then settled down as a reader in English literature at Christ Church, Oxford, from which he retired in 1973. His most famous character is John Appleby, who inspired a penchant for donnish detective fiction that lasts to this day. Innes's other well-known character is Honeybath, the painter and rather reluctant detective, who first appeared in 1975 in The Mysterious Commission. The last novel, Appleby and the Ospreys, was published in 1986, some eight years before his death, in 1994.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Tedious and sometimes insufferable characters

As you can see from the basic description, this one has all the elements for a wonderful mystery, but for many reasons, it disappoints.

For me, the first person narrator is insufferable. Truly exhausting company from the first, he does not improve upon acquaintance.

His family members are equally tedious, especially the oh-so-precious ones who speak to one another in extended Shakespearean allusion and quotation, ever attempting to out-do each other with a replacement for meaningful conversation.

Furthermore, the most interesting characters are least developed.

Appleby is tacked on at the end and not shown at his best.

One thing that was particularly grating once again was Innes' extensive use of adverbial speech tags. A writer of so much erudition and ability should not be subjecting his readers to page after page of this egregious stylistic error.

Even so, Matt Addis is an extraordinarily good narrator who never disappoints, and he always gets five stars. I've never heard him give a bad performance.
Read full review

- Die Falknerin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-30-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios