The Wild Inside : Glacier Mysteries

  • by Christine Carbo
  • Narrated by R. C. Bray
  • Series: Glacier Mysteries
  • 13 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Louise Penny, C. J. Box, and Nevada Barr comes a haunting crime novel set in Glacier National Park, where one man finds himself on a collision course with the dark heart of the wild and the even darker heart of human nature.
It was a clear, starry night in Glacier National Park. Fourteen-year-old Ted Systead and his father were camping peacefully beneath the rugged peaks and sweeping sky when the unimaginable happened: Ted's father was mauled by a grizzly bear and dragged to his death.
Now, 20 years later, as a special agent for the Department of the Interior, Ted is called back to investigate a crime that echoes the horror of that night. Only this time the victim was tied to a tree before the animal's attack. Ted teams up with one of the park officers - a man named Monty, whose pleasant exterior masks an all-too-vivid knowledge of the area. Residents of the nearby community are less than forthcoming. Suspicious of outsiders and intimately connected to the wilderness that surrounds them, they confront their fellow man and nature with equal measures of reverence and brutality. As the days pass with no clear answers, not only is human life at stake but so too is that of a majestic creature who carries with it valuable evidence. Ted's search for truth takes him far into the wilderness, on the trail of a killer, and eventually to a shocking and unexpectedly personal conclusion.
Rich in atmosphere and evocative, lush descriptions, The Wild Inside is a gripping debut novel about the wondrously perilous intersection between man and nature.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Mystery, Thriller, Suspense & The Great Outdoors

This is a book that grabs you by the throat from the opening paragraph and doesn't let go until the last word. Narrated in a macho tough guy voice which I actually enjoyed once I got over the semi surprise of it all. Really engaging reading with perfect timing.

The story is multi dimensional, hits all the current social issues and deftly instructs the listener in an insiders view of the National Parks system and the Department of the Interior.
I love the National Parks as a visitor--but I don't know enough about the inner workings to know if the info presented here is accurate. While listening I wondered about that for about a minute and then put it out of my mind because the story was too good to waste time fussing about facts. I will say it all felt very real and believable.

I loved the sense of place the author captures in the way she presents Glacier National Park and Montana. Brutal, intense, fascinating and gruesome all wrapped up into one wild ride of a book. I join other reviewers here in saying that I hope this might end up as a new series. It was that good.
Read full review

- Sara

I really hope this is the first in a series!

Along with the Grand Tetons, Glacier National Park is one of my favorite places. Reading The Wild Inside, it's clear that Christine Carbo also has a great and genuine appreciation for Montana, all of its beauty, and its inherent dangers and brutality. I don't read many mysteries, but this one stands out with an interesting, very human main character, Ted Systead, Special Agent for the Department of the Interior, some excellent, evocative writing, and a compelling plot. There were a few instances where the writing may have been a bit emotionally overwrought, but to be fair, it is an emotional story.

I read the book with a bit of trepidation, as my husband and youngest son will be hunting in Montana this fall and have been seriously assessing their threat from bears. Carbo writes about the grizzly in this story in a realistic (grisly, but not gratuitous) way, reminding us that Glacier is not Disney World with cute wild animal characters. I sincerely hope that Carbo intends this to be the debut in a series, as I would love to read more about Ted Systead and his life and work in the West.
Read full review

- Bonny

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-16-2015
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.