The Wild Inside

  • by Christine Carbo
  • Narrated by R. C. Bray
  • 13 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Louise Penny, C. J. Box, and Nevada Barr comes a haunting crime novel set in Glacier National Park, where one man finds himself on a collision course with the dark heart of the wild and the even darker heart of human nature.
It was a clear, starry night in Glacier National Park. Fourteen-year-old Ted Systead and his father were camping peacefully beneath the rugged peaks and sweeping sky when the unimaginable happened: Ted's father was mauled by a grizzly bear and dragged to his death.
Now, 20 years later, as a special agent for the Department of the Interior, Ted is called back to investigate a crime that echoes the horror of that night. Only this time the victim was tied to a tree before the animal's attack. Ted teams up with one of the park officers - a man named Monty, whose pleasant exterior masks an all-too-vivid knowledge of the area. Residents of the nearby community are less than forthcoming. Suspicious of outsiders and intimately connected to the wilderness that surrounds them, they confront their fellow man and nature with equal measures of reverence and brutality. As the days pass with no clear answers, not only is human life at stake but so too is that of a majestic creature who carries with it valuable evidence. Ted's search for truth takes him far into the wilderness, on the trail of a killer, and eventually to a shocking and unexpectedly personal conclusion.
Rich in atmosphere and evocative, lush descriptions, The Wild Inside is a gripping debut novel about the wondrously perilous intersection between man and nature.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Mystery, Thriller, Suspense & The Great Outdoors

This is a book that grabs you by the throat from the opening paragraph and doesn't let go until the last word. Narrated in a macho tough guy voice which I actually enjoyed once I got over the semi surprise of it all. Really engaging reading with perfect timing.

The story is multi dimensional, hits all the current social issues and deftly instructs the listener in an insiders view of the National Parks system and the Department of the Interior.
I love the National Parks as a visitor--but I don't know enough about the inner workings to know if the info presented here is accurate. While listening I wondered about that for about a minute and then put it out of my mind because the story was too good to waste time fussing about facts. I will say it all felt very real and believable.

I loved the sense of place the author captures in the way she presents Glacier National Park and Montana. Brutal, intense, fascinating and gruesome all wrapped up into one wild ride of a book. I join other reviewers here in saying that I hope this might end up as a new series. It was that good.
Read full review

- STS "..."


I was disappointed in this one. Too long, too much exposition, too many social issues (domestic violence, animal abuse, drug use, dysfunctional families ), too many characters;
just too much of everything except for a compelling narrative. A good editor could have helped find an interesting story in this over-long melodrama.
Read full review

- Ruth Bain "RueRue"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-16-2015
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.