Regular price: $27.37

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.37

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

His scandal
Her secret
From New York Times best-selling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10 - in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.
When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother's home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.
Six years later, thanks to a best-selling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look at the man she married. And when she is asked to defend Jason in court, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth old secrets.
This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke's Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?
©2018 Alafair Burke (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Xe Sands's delivery grips the listener's imagination and makes Burke's compelling mystery unforgettable." (AudioFile)  
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Toni R. on 02-03-18

Great listen

Great story with multiple twist. Love the narration. Don’t hesitate to use a credit on this one.

Read More Hide me

46 of 46 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By JK907 on 01-28-18

Alafair Burke’s best book by far

Despite the genre this book is categorized in, as I was listening to it, I thought it was going to be just a drama with a little mystery due to the tone and beginning pace of the story. However, as the story unfolded, new revelations kept emerging and changing the direction of where you thought the story was going. As the story started to wrap up, a backlog of hints came into light and completely altered how and why the events occurred. The character development is so strong and the main character is very intriguing so I never grew disinterested. We also get the perspective of most of the other characters which helped reinforce their roles. I highly recommend this book and of the many Alafair Burke books I’ve read or listened to, this is his strongest in my opinion and definitely my favorite so far.

Read More Hide me

70 of 73 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews