The Widow

  • by Fiona Barton
  • Narrated by Hannah Curtis, Nicholas Guy Smith, full cast
  • 10 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife.
When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on when more bad things began to happen...
But that woman's husband died last week. And Jean doesn't have to be her anymore.
There's a lot Jean hasn't said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.
Now there's no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.
The truth - that's all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything....
List of readers:


The Mother read by Jayne Entwistle
The Detective read by Nicholas Guy Smith
The Widow read by Hannah Curtis
The Husband read by Steve West
The Reporter read by Mandy Williams

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Disturbing but very good.

The story was original but the subject matter could be upsetting to some. Still, it was presented tastefully without unnecessary gory details. It was realistic and gave me a lot to think about. The performances were spot on. Overall I do recommend this book, but not to somehow who would be sensitive to hard topics (I don't want to give too much away). It was worth a credit.
Read full review

- CR

Not Very Thrilling... Only Very Tragic...

I imagine the people who thought this book was a good thriller do not listen/read many books. The "twist" is very obvious from the beginning of the book, and in my mind, there really wasn't any twist (or mystery or thrill) at all. There are, however, many twisted, messed up, disgusting characters, and enough of a good-paced story to have kept my interest in listening. Ultimately this is a very sad story, and although you probably won't cry, I feel it is much more tragic than thrilling. As other reviewers remarked on, it was laughable how the police were portrayed to have absolutely no knowledge of how criminals use the internet and how to perform an investigation using the internet. The rookie investigator that was "just out of University" had to explain to the lead investigator the very basics, and they went about their operation like it had never been done before by anyone. I actually rolled my eyes in some parts.
Read full review

- Lila

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-16-2016
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio