The Widow

  • by Fiona Barton
  • Narrated by Hannah Curtis, Nicholas Guy Smith, full cast
  • 10 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife.
When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on when more bad things began to happen...
But that woman's husband died last week. And Jean doesn't have to be her anymore.
There's a lot Jean hasn't said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.
Now there's no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.
The truth - that's all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything....
List of readers:

The Mother read by Jayne Entwistle
The Detective read by Nicholas Guy Smith
The Widow read by Hannah Curtis
The Husband read by Steve West
The Reporter read by Mandy Williams


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

'Thriller' Without Any Thrills

Don't be fooled by any comparisons to 'Gone Girl' or 'The Girl on the Train' ... This is more of a slow-burn introspection into some profoundly disturbing psychosis, which is good at times, but nothing very innovative. I kept waiting for a twist that never came, unless you count a fairly obvious detail about a certain character's death that you can see coming from a mile away. As such, not what I'd call a "thriller."

Also, the detective narratives in the middle of the story are laughably outdated. The police are baffled by how chat rooms work. The fact that chat rooms and Internet porn needs to be explained to them/us goes to show how crummy they are at their job, and the author's lackluster results.
Read full review

- Scott

Disturbing but very good.

The story was original but the subject matter could be upsetting to some. Still, it was presented tastefully without unnecessary gory details. It was realistic and gave me a lot to think about. The performances were spot on. Overall I do recommend this book, but not to somehow who would be sensitive to hard topics (I don't want to give too much away). It was worth a credit.
Read full review

- C Reese

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-16-2016
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio