The Whole Lie : Conway Sax

  • by Steve Ulfelder
  • Narrated by Mark Boyett
  • Series: Conway Sax
  • 10 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Savvy hadn’t changed. She was smarter than you and didn’t mind letting you know it. She’d whip you up and down trying to get her way. But we weren’t lovers any more - and she’d stopped being a Barnburner long ago. Still….
Conway Sax, the no-nonsense auto mechanic with a knack for solving difficult problems for the Barnburners - the renegade AA group who saved his life - is back in The Whole Lie. And for once, he thinks normalcy is within reach. He’s opening a new garage, and he’s finally moved in with longtime girlfriend Charlene. The end of his parole is finally in sight. Then along comes Savannah Kane: smart, smoky, and a pusher of men’s buttons. Seven years ago, Conway helped her disappear - but not before they had a sizzling, knock-down-drag-out affair. Now she’s back with a shocking revelation: she’s the mother of a six-year-old boy. Savvy claims her son’s father is billionaire Bert Saginaw, but Conway (not to mention Charlene) knows she’s back for more than just a family reunion.
Saginaw wants to be lieutenant governor of Massachusetts. Savvy wants to get paid. Conway wants nothing to do with either of them. But when Savvy turns up brutally murdered, he’s got no choice but to sort lies from truth - even though doing so may cost him his freedom, his lover, and his life.
The action continues in this thrilling and heart-wrenching follow-up to the critically acclaimed novel Purgatory Chasm, in the tradition of Robert B. Parker and Dennis Lehane.

More

What the Critics Say

“The Massachusetts gubernatorial race forms the backdrop for Ulfelder’s excellent sequel to his Edgar-finalist debut, Purgatory Chasm…. Readers will want to see more of Ulfelder’s tough but vulnerable lead, whose narration offers a warts-and-all view of his multifaceted character.” (Publishers Weekly)
“The strength of The Whole Lie is in the larger than life characters of Conway Sax, Savvy Kane, and baby-daddy Bert Saginaw. In signature Ulfelder style, everyone is a suspect, everyone has an angle, and everyone is lying. Throw in some campaign secrets, blackmail photos, and the fact that every time Sax thinks he has the killer, that person ends up dead, and you have a thrilling tale that moves at NASCAR speed.” (The Bourbon County Review)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-08-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios