The War of the Worlds Murder : Disaster

  • by Max Allan Collins
  • Narrated by Dan John Miller
  • Series: Disaster
  • 7 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

On October 30, 1938, rising radio star Orson Welles boondoggles the American public into believing that Martians have attacked Earth. With his clever adaptation of The War of the Worlds, the great showman proves he can get away with anything - maybe even murder.
Minutes before the fictitious invasion goes live on the air, a dead body is found in the studio and the polarizing Welles is the obvious suspect. Convinced that the star has been framed, Walter Gibson - creator of pulp superhero the Shadow - has exactly one hour, the length of the radio show, to solve the murder. But in show business, appearances are deceptive, and the facts of this case are not what they seem.
The sixth in the series of Max Allan Collins’s disaster thrillers, The War of the Worlds Murder offers up historical high jinks of Welles-ian proportions.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Best One Yet

I have thoroughly enjoyed all of this series but this one is the best. I love that the author changes his style to match that of the featured author that is the protagonist. And the narration has been excellent throughout. But this narrator truly became the characters. I kept forgetting that Orson Welles and John Houseman are deceased and couldn't be actually participating. I'm really going to be sad when I finish the series and have no more to enjoy.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

It was free and I still feel tempted to return it

Is there anything you would change about this book?

The entire story was disorganized and did not meet the expectations given by the title.

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

This story could have been organized with a clear point and clear characters. It had the promise, just no follow through.

What three words best describe Dan John Miller’s voice?

Better than Average.

Was The War of the Worlds Murder worth the listening time?

Probably not. I've been forcing myself to let it play through.

Any additional comments?


Read full review

- Jerrilynn

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-11-2012
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio