The Trap

  • by Melanie Raabe, Imogen Taylor - translator
  • Narrated by Julie Teal
  • 10 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this twisted debut thriller, a reclusive author sets the perfect trap for her sister's murderer - but is he really the killer?
For 11 years, best-selling author Linda Conrads has mystified fans by never setting foot outside her home. Haunted by the unsolved murder of her younger sister - who she discovered in a pool of blood - and the face of the man she saw fleeing the scene, Linda's hermit existence helps her cope with debilitating anxiety. But the sanctity of her oasis is shattered when she sees her sister's murderer on television.
Hobbled by years of isolation, Linda resolves to use the plot of her next novel to lay an irresistible trap for the man. As the plan is set in motion and the past comes rushing back, Linda's memories - and her very sanity - are called into question. Is this man a heartless killer or merely a helpless victim?

More

What the Critics Say

"A fast, twisty read for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn." (Booklist)
"Intricately constructed...nicely done twists and turns." (Kirkus Reviews)
"A superb psychological thriller with a storyline that will have you hooked. Not suitable for sensitive constitutions." [AR (Spain)]

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Clever & Character-Driven, but No Empathy 4 Linda.

My favorite stories are character-driven and this book certainly is. Unfortunately, though, Linda - the protagonist - doesn't inspire the kind of empathy and compassion that I should feel for a woman in her place. There was a time in my past when I struggled with severe panic attacks which made it impossible for me leave my home for a few weeks. That overwhelming fear of the outside world is something I can never forget. And, yet, Linda's fear isn't enough to trigger those memories or to arouse sympathy. The book tells us of her many years of self-imposed house-arrest but it doesn't show us the emotions behind it. I heard the story without feeling it. I fully expected for this story to make me think and feel long after it ended. Instead I was ready to end the book a full three chapters before it ended. So the best I can give it is 2 stars.

Julie Teal does a decent job with what she is given. She voices Linda and Lenson with such differences that there is never any confusion about who is speaking. I am not able to say that she voices the fear and anxiety well enough -- but I believe that is more about the words on the page than on her ability to voice the feelings.
Read full review

- Kelly "Reading allows me to travel through time; to visit the world's unique and stunning places. To become somebody I am not... It is glorious."

Entertaining Read

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

The story inside the story as a way to let us know what happened was well done!


What did you like best about this story?

The way the story was laid out made it clear that something would be revealed about the murder, but the suspense was done in a way that you were never quite sure how it would play out!


Any additional comments?

Like the main character who authored a different kind of book in the story, this novel was a different kind of story than I normally listen to. It was entertaining and I kept wanting to go back to it - not like the edge of my seat suspense, but just entertaining to listen to and the overall story development.

Read full review

- Rachel

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-05-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio