The Terror

  • by Dan Simmons
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • 8 hrs and 54 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Their captain's insane vision of a Northwest Passage has kept the crewmen of HMS Terror trapped in Arctic ice for two years without a thaw. But the real threat to their survival isn't the ever-shifting landscape of white, the provisions that have turned to poison, or the ship slowly buckling in the grip of the frozen ocean. The real threat is whatever is out in the frigid darkness, stalking their ship, snatching and brutally killing their fellow seamen. Captain Crozier has taken over the expedition after the death of its original leader, Sir John Franklin. He draws equally on his strengths as a mariner and on the mystical beliefs of the Eskimo woman he's rescued as he sets a course on foot out of the Arctic and away from the insatiable beast. But every day the dwindling crew becomes more deranged and mutinous, until even Crozier begins to fear there may be no escape from an ever-more-inconceivable nightmare.


What the Critics Say

"Outstanding." (Booklist)
"Beautifully written." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Story - better if unabridged

I have read several books by Dan Simmons - all of them great. When I saw "The Terror" at the bookstore, I immediately checked to see if it was available on Audible. It was, but I was disappointed to see that it was abridged. Nevertheless, I purchased it and thoroughly enjoyed Simon Vances reading of this intriguing fictional account of what happened to "The Terror" and her sister ship the "The Erebus". I gave four stars instead of five, only because it was abridged. I hope Audible provides more titles by Dan Simmons.
Read full review

- Edward A. Kokkila

Devastated by abridged butchery

Any additional comments?

Don't buy this abridged piece of garbage. Dan Simmons wrote a 700+ page book for a reason. I urge you to pick up the novel and read it in its entirety.

Read full review

- Kevin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-20-2006
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio