The Taste of Wormwood : Eisenmenger-Flemming Forensic Mysteries

  • by Keith McCarthy
  • Narrated by Seán Barrett
  • Series: Eisenmenger-Flemming Forensic Mysteries
  • 8 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Arthur Meadows has just returned home in his HGV from a long trip to southwest Europe, supposedly bringing back a consignment of cloth, yet is actually bringing back something far more deadly. Meanwhile, a young Asian couple are murdered in their small house in the middle of Gloucester, the killings done with ruthless efficiency. Beverley Wharton, now Chief Inspector, does not relish the investigation of the murders because she does not get on with her new sergeant, and because the pathologist Charles Sydenham would not have been her first choice. That honour would have gone to John Eisenmenger, but he has own problems trying to work out why Arthur Meadows has died so unexpectedly.…


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Absolutely recommended! It is a gripping story, one of those ones you don't want to put down.

What did you like best about this story?

I enjoyed the suspense and utter surprise at the twists in the story.

Have you listened to any of Seán Barrett’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No I haven't.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

At one stage I almost didn't want to listen because I could guess what terrible things were going to be said - but I couldn't tear myself away from the grimness of the story being told. I found myself thinking "Oh my god".

Read full review

- Susan

Mystery + strange illness

Where does The Taste of Wormwood rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Love the unspoken interpersonal tension among the characters. Gripping story develops through different characters' points of view. I can't stop listening to this book.

Read full review

- Kathryn "Krispy"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-01-2013
  • Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd