The Summer That Never Was

  • by Peter Robinson
  • Narrated by Neil Pearson
  • 4 hrs and 6 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A skeleton has been unearthed. Soon the body is identified, and the horrific discovery hits the headlines. Fourteen-year-old Graham Marshall went missing during his paper round in 1965. The police found no trace of him. His disappearance left his family shattered, and his best friend, Alan Banks, full of guilt.
That friend has now become Chief Inspector Alan Banks, and he is determined to bring justice for Graham. But he soon realises that in this case, the boundary between victim and perpetrator, between law-guardian and law-breaker, is becoming more and more blurred.


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Another really great listen.

I am working my way with great pleasure through all the Peter Robinson Inspector Banks books narrated by Neil Pearson mostly because I so enjoy the narrator who is perfect for these stories, using different accents and voices very effectively. Very British (mostly Northern England and London) in dialogue and accent, maybe that's why I enjoy them so much. I am sorry that they all are abridged versions as they are over all too soon. Typical murder mystery, the stories are well told by Robinson, written in 3rd person, mostly from the viewpoint of Inspector Banks, with quite a lot of dialogue, this episode is just as well crafted as all the rest, keeping you guessing, listening, intrigued. You also get an interesting insight into the main players and their lives, especially of course, Banks. So,to summarise, a well written story line, enhanced by the narrator who is one of the best, in my opinion, available on Audible.
Read full review

- Merril

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-13-2007
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd.