The Sound of Rain

  • by Gregg Olsen
  • Narrated by Karen Peakes
  • 9 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Former homicide detective Nicole Foster has hit rock bottom. Driven off the force by her treacherous partner and lover, she's flat broke and struggling with a gambling addiction. All Nicole has left is the dream of a warm bed at a homeless shelter and the haunting memories of three-year-old Kelsey Chase - whose murder case ended her career.
As Nicole obsesses over the old facts, she realizes everything about that case felt off: a disinterested mom, a suicidal pedophile, and too many questions left unanswered. When the little girl's grieving father begs Nicole for help, she's drawn back into the investigation...and given one shot at redemption.
But the deeper Nicole digs, the more evil she uncovers, including betrayals that hit painfully close to home. Will a shocking discovery be the key to finally getting justice for Kelsey and resurrecting her own life?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The plot's a hot mess

It had the makings of a good thriller but then the plot got so contorted and confusing that it just doesn't compute. I'm normally a fan of Olsen but this one just doesn't fly.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

The last hour of the book pulled out the 3rd star

What did you like best about The Sound of Rain? What did you like least?

Best-The twists and turns at the end
Worst-The author should study police procedure

Would you be willing to try another book from Gregg Olsen? Why or why not?

Probably not for the reason I listed as WORST part of the book

Do you think The Sound of Rain needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?


Any additional comments?

I stopped reading this book several times. The authors police investigation was bad writing and in no way believable. I strongly dislike giving a bad review. If you can overlook this part and get through it, the last 1/4 or so is pretty good.

Read full review

- Samantha

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-13-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio