The Sleeper

  • by Emily Barr
  • Narrated by Imogen Church
  • 12 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton.
Lara Finch is living a lie.
Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace. Only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her.
For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she's ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets. For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her....
Emily Barr is the well-loved author of the best-selling Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and 10 other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian.


What the Critics Say

“Thrillingly sinister… Single White Female with a twist, only far, far less predictable” (The Guardian on Stranded)
“Sleep-sabotagingly moreish” (Cosmopolitan)
“Gripping escapism” (Red)
“We can’t praise Emily Barr’s novels enough; they’re fresh, original and hugely readable” (Glamour)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A compelling listen from beginning to end

What made the experience of listening to The Sleeper the most enjoyable?

This book combines detailed characters with a complex and interesting story. It is told in sections in the first person by Lara and Iris and there are some good subtexts throughout.

Have you listened to any of Imogen Church’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I don't recall listening to Imogen Church but I really like her sound and style.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I have a long drive to and from work, and while I was listening to this story I looked forward to the trip so I could keep listening.

Read full review

- Anne "I am addicted to talking books, but only mystery/thrillers or some particular authors like Terry Pratchett."

Decent page-turner

I love Imogen Church's narration. It improved this good but not great book.
I'd have rather rated the story a 3.5 but that's not an option.

This book held my interest and had a satisfying ending.
But it's not great enough to earn the enthusiasm I have for IN A DARK, DARK WOOD by Ruth Ware. Listen to that one! Same narrator. That book blew me away. But I digress.

THE SLEEPER redeems itself by avoiding cheesy love scenes and cringe-worthy dialogue. It does not focus on a hard-bitten detective, thankfully. Contemporary references ground this story in reality, which I also appreciate. It does contain a decent twist. Overall a credit well spent, but not an exceptional experience.
Read full review

- jennifer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-04-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios