The Sleeper

  • by Emily Barr
  • Narrated by Imogen Church
  • 12 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton.
Lara Finch is living a lie.
Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace. Only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her.
For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she's ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets. For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her....
Emily Barr is the well-loved author of the best-selling Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and 10 other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian.

More

What the Critics Say

“Thrillingly sinister… Single White Female with a twist, only far, far less predictable” (The Guardian on Stranded)
“Sleep-sabotagingly moreish” (Cosmopolitan)
“Gripping escapism” (Red)
“We can’t praise Emily Barr’s novels enough; they’re fresh, original and hugely readable” (Glamour)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Disappointing

Very enjoyable throughout - had to listen constantly, which is why the end was so frustrating . The last two hours moved so slowly and had so much filler that I had to fast forward periodically. This change was very noticeable from the rest of the book. Instead of coming to a satisfying ending with the same intensity that it had all along, it came to a slow flat end.
Read full review

- ilene

The train derails

It starts off great. A winner for several hours. Then it's like if another writer took over...or as if the author herself had no idea where the story was going. Suffice it to say that the characters end up having the most implausible lives! How could all this have happened to one person? To have the bad luck to have had so many disconnected evil people cross your life! Going into the final two hours, what had seemed like a solid four-star novel had degraded to three/stars already but, omg, the last two hours or so were absolutely unbearable. Ridiculous plot developments, one after another. Ridiculous out of character reactions from practically every character. I thought about stopping but for whatever reason kept going (was probably driving and it would have been too difficult to find another option). Can't recommend.
Read full review

- cristina

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-04-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios