The Sleeper

  • by Emily Barr
  • Narrated by Imogen Church
  • 12 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton.
Lara Finch is living a lie.
Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace. Only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her.
For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she's ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets. For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her....
Emily Barr is the well-loved author of the best-selling Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and 10 other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian.

More

What the Critics Say

“Thrillingly sinister… Single White Female with a twist, only far, far less predictable” (The Guardian on Stranded)
“Sleep-sabotagingly moreish” (Cosmopolitan)
“Gripping escapism” (Red)
“We can’t praise Emily Barr’s novels enough; they’re fresh, original and hugely readable” (Glamour)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Disappointing

Very enjoyable throughout - had to listen constantly, which is why the end was so frustrating . The last two hours moved so slowly and had so much filler that I had to fast forward periodically. This change was very noticeable from the rest of the book. Instead of coming to a satisfying ending with the same intensity that it had all along, it came to a slow flat end.
Read full review

- ilene

Don't waste a credit

Any additional comments?

I listened to this book on a road trip or I would've returned it about an hour into it. It took 15 chapters to get slightly interesting. Then after all was said and done it was not a good story line! Felt like the book really dragged on and on. I wouldn't recommend it.

Read full review

- MM

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-04-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios