The Secret Vanguard : Inspector Appleby

  • by Michael Innes
  • Narrated by Matt Addis
  • Series: Inspector Appleby
  • 6 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Successful minor poet, Philip Ploss, lives a peaceful existence in ideal surroundings, until his life is upset when he hears verses erroneously quoted as his own. Soon afterwards, he is found dead in the library with a copy of Dante's Purgatory open before him.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good World War II Espionage Tale

In "The Secret Vanguard," the 5th book in the Appleby series, Michael Innes starts the plot with a dead poet, then takes us on a wild ride around the English countryside as it was in 1940. Characters are kidnapped by strange foreigners, escapes are engineered, then escapees have to play desperate games of evasion, only to be caught again. As the story goes along, you are told that these bad guys are German agents, and if you stay alert, you will be told how all of this is tied to the murdered poet. The story is great fun, and reminds me a bit of "The Thirty-nine Steps" by John Buchan, which dealt with World War I spies in England.

I enjoy Innes's literate writing, his plots and his characters, especially Inspector Appleby, who is ordered by the Government to join in the chase after the Germans. Matt Addis delivers his usual excellent narration in this story, performing in both educated and regional working class accents in a polished and effective manner.

An excellent way to spend a day or two (or a long drive) listening.
Read full review

- Nancy J

Depends on what you're looking for...

I believed this would be a literary mystery, but it is really a wartime thriller circa 1939. If that is what you are looking for, it is quite good of its kind. But that is not the sort of story I like to read. This is my fault for never reading reviews before I chose a mystery, so I have only myself to blame.

If I might explain...

Poet Philip Ploss lives an apparently comfortable, circumscribed existence on an estate in the Chiltern Hills. The opening chapter about him is lyrical and idyllic. Then we find he has been murdered.

In his house Dante's Purgatorio is open at Canto XXX: this is the 8th Circle, 10th Bolgia, the place of false witnesses, wicked impersonators, and counterfeiters.

Appleby and his friend Ambrose Heatherton, the archaeologist, discuss the case in their "customary place of refection." The crime appears entirely motiveless.

Clues leads to a library in Mecklenburg Square, replete with archaic denizens. We see a beautiful woman on a train reading Sir Walter Scott, and hear another passenger quoting Swinburne. In other words, there is every reason to think the essence of the mystery is literary.

Then abruptly the viewpoint shifts to the lady reading Scott and stays with her through the rest of the book, in a story about espionage, secrets, and wartime doings.

As I say, I was disappointed in the type of the story, but the writing is first rate, Appleby is his usual delightful self, and the story is good of its kind.

Hope this helps.
Read full review

- Die Falknerin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-24-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios