Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $21.31

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A #1 International Best-Seller
Over 16 million copies sold
Winner of the Glass Key award
Jussi Adler-Olsen returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet.
In a Copenhagen park, the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town, a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.
Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After a breakdown, their colleague Rose is struggling to deal with the ghosts of her past - a past seemingly connected to one of the division's most sinister case-files. It is up to Carl, Assad and Gordon to unearth the dark and violent truth plaguing Rose before it is too late.
Translated by William Frost
Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.
©2017 Jussi Adler-Olsen (P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Sonja Mudig on 06-03-18

How a great narrator can ruin a good book

Adler Olsen is second in his extravagance only to Stieg Larsson and David Lagercrantz in the Nordic Noir genre - and that is by no means a bad thing. Saul Reichlin is a great narrator - for Rudyard Kipling, Henry Rider Haggard and other great adventure writers.
But assigning him to narrate a Nordic Noir book ruined the book for me. Nordic Noir is compact, dense, minor in tone - exactly the opposite of Reichlin's dramatic style. Assad's accent sounds like an Englishman's poor imitation of an Indian an the turn of the 20th century.
Disservice to Reichlin's skills, complete disaster to Adler Olsen's book.

Read More Hide me
1 out of 5 stars
By Anonymous User on 01-20-18

Destroyd by Narrator

Olsens books are among the best. Usually witty and gripping. So sad not beeing able to listen to this story due to the narrator .

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By mollyeyre on 09-22-17

What a let down after such a long wait!

Oh I do think that this series has 'gone off the boil', this book was all over the place - dreadfully messy with too many side stories going on at once.
I think that the relationship between Karl (Carl) and his staff is changing significantly and has lost its charm. Hardy, too, was scarcely mentioned.
Saul Reichlin has also changed in my view - I used to love his narrations - but now he seems to be labouring and e n u n c i a t i n g V E R Y slowly, as if he is speaking to a class of children with learning difficulties.
I won't hold my breath for the next in the series - I had been looking forward to this one and feel so disappointed.

Read More Hide me

30 of 35 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By Jools on 09-21-17

Department Q spoilt

I have been a great fan of Department Q from the start with Stephen Pacey but the last book and this one is totally spoilt, even the story itself isn't what I expected am extremely disappointed, returning book unfinished.

Read More Hide me

40 of 47 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Linda on 05-20-18

It was entertaining but not his best work!

Not a bad read but probably not one of Jussi’s better works. I think I enjoyed this latest installation of the Department Q Series the least of all 7 so far. It tended to drag on in parts (lose momentum a little). I’ve listened to Saul Reichlin read the Millennium Series before now and thought he was great! I still can’t go past Steven Pacey for narrating the Department Q Series though! Bring him back for Book 8 when it’s released!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Roderic on 01-15-18

A decent addition to the series

This book was fairly good though not the best of the series. The characters need to be refreshed... somehow ... if the series is to retain its allure. More on Assad's back story would be appealing.

The change in narrator was not a success. Reichlin does not lift the dialogue as there is not enough variation in his voice.

I will check out the next on the series if and when it appears, hoping it will take a step up.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews