Regular price: $21.31

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $21.31

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A #1 International Best-Seller
Over 16 million copies sold
Winner of the Glass Key award
Jussi Adler-Olsen returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet.
In a Copenhagen park, the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town, a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.
Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After a breakdown, their colleague Rose is struggling to deal with the ghosts of her past - a past seemingly connected to one of the division's most sinister case-files. It is up to Carl, Assad and Gordon to unearth the dark and violent truth plaguing Rose before it is too late.
Translated by William Frost
Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.
©2017 Jussi Adler-Olsen (P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Anonymous User on 01-20-18

Destroyd by Narrator

Olsens books are among the best. Usually witty and gripping. So sad not beeing able to listen to this story due to the narrator .

Read More Hide me

By Anonymous User on 11-05-17

Can't believe I finished it.

Dialogue between female characters is laughable. Narrator's characterizations are unconvincing. Story telling unrealistic. I kept thinking "You're kidding! You expect me to swallow this?"

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Anthony on 09-23-17

Infantilising narration

What disappointed you about The Scarred Woman?

We've so enjoyed the previous department Q stories, and were really looking forward to this one. Unfortunately the narration is so turgid it is difficult to get past it and hear the story. Will have to return unfinished. So sorry that Audible have opted for this narrator, who may be good for non-native speakers but is so distracting

Would you ever listen to anything by Jussi Adler-Olsen again?

Not with this narrator

Who might you have cast as narrator instead of Saul Reichlin?

Steven Pacey, Samantha Bond, Sean Barrett, Lewis Hancock, Tom Hollander

Read More Hide me

34 of 36 people found this review helpful


By mollyeyre on 09-22-17

What a let down after such a long wait!

Oh I do think that this series has 'gone off the boil', this book was all over the place - dreadfully messy with too many side stories going on at once.
I think that the relationship between Karl (Carl) and his staff is changing significantly and has lost its charm. Hardy, too, was scarcely mentioned.
Saul Reichlin has also changed in my view - I used to love his narrations - but now he seems to be labouring and e n u n c i a t i n g V E R Y slowly, as if he is speaking to a class of children with learning difficulties.
I won't hold my breath for the next in the series - I had been looking forward to this one and feel so disappointed.

Read More Hide me

25 of 27 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Janie O'brien on 02-23-18

4 or 5?

Any additional comments?

I have read all of the Department Q books so far and they have all, up until now, been 5 star reads. Now don't get me wrong, on second reading, I may well change this rating to 5. The reason on first reading I gave it 4 was because of the length of time it took me to 'get into' the book. Perhaps it was because I was distracted on a number of occasions, or perhaps because this book, was multi layered, with at least 2 easily discernible plots and they were both complex, and if any of the writing was missed, one had to backtrack to pick up the thread once again for it to make sense. I am actually in awe of Adler-Olsen's writing and the way he brings his characters to life; in this case with many more characters than usual. Recommended highly to those who enjoy original plots, excellent writing, mysteries & suspense.

Read More Hide me

By Roderic on 01-15-18

A decent addition to the series

This book was fairly good though not the best of the series. The characters need to be refreshed... somehow ... if the series is to retain its allure. More on Assad's back story would be appealing.

The change in narrator was not a success. Reichlin does not lift the dialogue as there is not enough variation in his voice.

I will check out the next on the series if and when it appears, hoping it will take a step up.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc