The Scarlet Ruse : Travis McGee

  • by John D. MacDonald
  • Narrated by Robert Petkoff
  • Series: Travis McGee
  • 8 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Travis McGee is too busy with his houseboat to pay attention to the little old man with the missing postage stamps. Except these are no ordinary stamps. They are rare stamps. Four hundred thousand dollars worth of rare. And if McGee doesn't recognize their value, perhaps Mary Alice McDermit, a six-foot knockout who knows all the ways to a boat bum's heart, will. Only it's not McGee's heart that's in danger. Because a syndicate killer has put a contract on McGee. A killer who knows a thing or two about stamps...and even more about McGee.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

This Is Not Great Literature, BUT..........

JDM's McGee books are all essentially cookie-cutter versions of one another. But thay are all tremendously entertaining and as readable as books come. The difference, what makes MacDonald great, is that each one is as interesting as the last, on and on and on. Unlike the Child/Reacher series that has gone blasé and predictable to a fault, the McGee adventures never fail to entertain and enlighten.
These books are not as politically correct as most are today (so as not to offend our tender sensibilities) but frankly I don't give a damn. It is intelligent testosterone with a big spash of philosophy. I love them all.

And Robert Petkoff IS Travis and Meyer and the rest. Possibly the premier match between pen and voice to date!
Read full review


Friends help move, great friends help move bodies!

Starts off slow, but builds to a VERY powerful climax. I learned more than I ever wanted to know about stamp collecting, but it was worth the trip. It starts off as sort of a "locked room mystery," but soon turns into thrill ride through organized crime and psychopathic killers. The end left me wondering how in the Hell Travis is going to survive seven more books! Not my favorite overall, but this one has a lot going for it.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-10-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios