The Samaritan : Carter Blake

  • by Mason Cross
  • Narrated by Eric Meyers
  • Series: Carter Blake
  • 13 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The thrilling sequel to The Killing Season, a new energetic crime saga featuring Carter Blake, a protagonist in the tradition of Jack Reacher, Alex Cross, and Jason Bourne.
When the mutilated body of a young woman is discovered in the Santa Monica Mountains, LAPD detective Jessica Allen knows she's seen this before - two and a half years ago on the other side of the country. A sadistic serial killer has been operating undetected for a decade, preying on lone female drivers whose cars have broken down. The press dub the killer "the Samaritan", but with no leads - and a killer who leaves no traces - the police investigation quickly grinds to a halt.
That's when Carter Blake shows up to volunteer his services. He's a skilled man hunter with an uncanny ability to predict the Samaritan's next moves. At first Allen and her colleagues are suspicious. After all, their new ally shares some uncomfortable similarities with the man they are tracking. But as the Samaritan takes his slaughter to the next level, Blake must find a way to stop him...even if it means bringing his own past crashing down on top of him.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Carter Blake series should not be missed...

Any additional comments?

I think Mason Cross has made it into my top ten authors with this second book in the Carter Blake series. I thought the first book (The Killing Season) was really good and hoped it was more then just a one hit wonder. With this book Cross has proven that he has more talent then just one good book. This book (The Samaritan) is an Excellent thriller, nonstop suspense right from the beginning. It has a surprise ending that I never saw coming and that doesn't happen too often. I checked Cross's website and saw he has a third coming out this spring, I sure hope it's coming out on Audible as well as print. Anyway, Carter Blake... He finds people that don't want to be found. He's been trained by one of the alphabet organizations and is the best at what he does. He also possesses other skills the average citizen does not. Getting in and out of places with out being noticed, self defense/offense, an ability to read people and a moral code he adheres to. He's not an assassin and will not take jobs from just anyone. We know Carter Blake is not his real name but also don't know much of his history. He gains the respect of law enforcement that he works with, he's loyal and he also doesn't want to easily be found. He's a mystery that looks as though a little bit will come to light with each new book.
Highly Recommended.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

Read full review

- shelley

Giving up

There's four hours to go, but I'm giving up after the warehouse scene.. I think there's a good idea in here - But the story doesn't grab me and hold my attention. A lot of dialogue.

I'm bored

J

Read full review

- John

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-15-2016
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.