Regular price: $28.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, a stirring thriller from New York Times best seller and award winner T. Jefferson Parker: The Room of White Fire is the tale of a private investigator tasked with hunting down a returned soldier broken and made dangerous by his experiences at war.
A young soldier shattered by war, on the run from a mental institute.
A PI carrying his own vicious wounds hired to track that soldier down.
A race against the clock to bring the soldier home before he reveals the secret that haunts him.
Roland Ford - once a cop, then a marine, now a private investigator - is good at finding people. But when he's asked to locate air force veteran Clay Hickman, he realizes he's been drawn into something deep and dark. He knows the weight of war, having served as a marine in First Fallujah; he also knows the nightmare of indescribable personal pain, as only two years have passed since his young wife's sudden death. What he doesn't know is why a shroud of secrecy hangs over the disappearance of Clay Hickman - and why he's getting a different story from everyone involved.
To begin with, there's the teenage woman who helped Clay escape: She's smart enough to fend off Ford's questions but impetuous enough to be on the run with an armed and dangerous man. Then there's Clay's attractive doctor, who clearly cares deeply for his welfare but is impossible to read, even as she inspires in Ford the first desire he has felt since his wife's death. And there's the proprietor of the mental institute who is as enigmatic as he is brash, and ambitious to the point of being ruthless; what could Clay possibly know to make this search so desperate?
Soon, what began as just a job becomes a life-and-death obsession for Ford, pitting him against immensely powerful and treacherous people and forcing him to contend with chilling questions about truth, justice, and the American way.
©2017 T. Jefferson Parker (P)2017 Penguin Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By JJC on 08-26-17

Vividly described torture

Profoundly dIsappointed.
There are spoilers in this review. The narration is delivered in a sing-song, start-stop, emotionally-infused drone. The story's stereotypical characters - dead saintly wife, wounded persevering PI, evil US military sociopaths, handsome proud jihadi, plucky determined doctor - are bound together by many, many minutely & lovingly described scenes of horrific torture and despair. The penultimate scenes are of CHILD torture and death. Mr. Parker is an excellent writer and these scenes are well written ... grotesqueries. Yes, we get it: war is terrible and repulsive things are done to combatants and non-combatants. I wish I'd given greater consideration to book reviews that described the storyline and avoided this audible reading. But I discounted them: it's a new Parker and I've read or listened to all of Mr. Parker's books and enjoyed them. I am profoundly disappointed with this one. It's left an awful residue in my mind. I won't jump at the next Parker novel, and if this is in fact the beginning of a new series, I'll abstain.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful


By B on 12-05-17

This is not fiction

The core of this story is absolutely accurate. I'm surprised to see my experiences in print.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews