The River Is Dark : A Liam Dempsey Thriller

  • by Joe Hart
  • Narrated by Eric G. Dove
  • Series: A Liam Dempsey Thriller
  • 7 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a small town along the Mississippi River, separate but nearly identical attacks have left two married couples brutally murdered in their homes. A young boy—the lone survivor of the killings—now lies comatose in the hospital. And the police’s only lead is the boy’s terrified description of the assailant: a “monster.”
Enter former homicide detective Liam Dempsey, whose estranged brother fell victim to the killer. Dragged into the investigation as a suspect, Dempsey vows to solve the case and clear his name. But two things stand between him and the truth: a web of local politics, and the grim secrets the victims held close. All the while, a murderer with boundless hatred continues to raise the body count.
As the troubled ex-cop tries to pull justice from the town’s emotional wreckage, he realizes that his could be the next life lost to the killer’s ruthless, twisted plan for revenge.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Save you money - and time!

Any additional comments?

The only time the narrator was able to capture my attention was when he was speaking in "someone else's voice". The rest of the time, he sounded like he was reading items on a menu. I had the story figured out in the first half hour and neither the language or plot kept me engrossed. I listened as long as I could stand it and then - out of pure frustration - stopped listening 15 minutes before the end. I just couldn't do it.

Read full review

- M. Gross

A waste of time and money

I don't know who this guy is, but he needs to find another profession.
This book is written according to a formula. The characters actions are twisted to fit the formula, and make no sense in the context of the character.

I'm not opposed to formula fiction, but at least the dialogue has to be engaging, and the characters believable.
Read full review

- Mary

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-14-2014
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio