The Queen's Accomplice : Maggie Hope

  • by Susan Elia MacNeal
  • Narrated by Susan Duerden
  • Series: Maggie Hope
  • 10 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Spy and code breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster as the New York Times best-selling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.
England, 1942. The Nazis' relentless Blitz may have paused, but London's nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper's crimes. What's more, he's targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill's spies and saboteurs abroad.
The officers at MI5 quickly realize they need the help of Special Agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed "the Blackout Beast". A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I really dislike the narrator

This would have warranted a higher rating but for the narration. It spoils the book which is a shame for the author's hard work.

The story itself, in spite of a few negatives, is my favorite of the series so far. It was interesting with several plot lines (not all of which were resolved) and returning characters. The plight of women at the time was laid on a bit thick. I understand the importance of highlighting what women had to endure and I'm as feminist as can be, but I think there was a bit of overkill.

There were a few "I'm going to have nightmares" tense moments. I found the final confrontation scenes confusing with the hallucinations. All that being said, I found the book entertaining. I'm not a fan of cliffhangers but it's the author's style. I'll buy the next book but maybe not the audio version.
Read full review

- Maine Knitter

I love these books, but had to stop listening....

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

The reader is terrible!! I love these books but could not remember why I only listened to the first one and read the rest myself. I purchased the latest and listened for 5 minutes and remembered why I read the rest myself. She does great voices but the rest is so sing songy I could not take it!!


Read full review

- Jodi Muller "Teacher-Librarian, an a avid audible listener:)"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-04-2016
  • Publisher: Random House Audio