The Prime Minister's Secret Agent : Maggie Hope

  • by Susan Elia MacNeal
  • Narrated by Susan Duerden
  • Series: Maggie Hope
  • 9 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry, The Prime Minister's Secret Agent is a gripping new mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. And this time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door.
World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow - including one of Maggie's dearest friends - Maggie partners with MI-5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking government secrets and put countless British lives at stake. But it's the fight brewing in the Pacific that will forever change the course of the war - and indelibly shape Maggie's fate.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The narration spoils the book

What made the experience of listening to The Prime Minister's Secret Agent the most enjoyable?

The series is interesting and the time period and history described makes for a good read.


Would you be willing to try another book from Susan Elia MacNeal? Why or why not?

I like the author but some else needs to narrate.


What didn’t you like about Susan Duerden’s performance?

Her cadence and breathy deliver is hard to listen to. There are emphasis where there shouldn't be and her raspy whispery voice is annoying.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No


Read full review

- Margaret Vance

Enjoyed

Would you listen to The Prime Minister's Secret Agent again? Why?

I enjoyed the different turns and twists in this installment of the series.


Any additional comments?

I still have a challenge with the narration style of the narrarator, although she does do a lovely job with the character voices

Read full review

- K. J. Fisher

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-01-2014
  • Publisher: Random House Audio