The Pick, the Spade and the Crow : National Crime Agency

  • by Bill Rogers
  • Narrated by Anne Flosnik
  • Series: National Crime Agency
  • 9 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When the body of a man is discovered in woodlands outside Manchester, a ten-year missing-persons investigation can finally be filed away. But this was no ordinary death: gagged, bound and buried alive, he was the victim of a sophisticated and sadistic killer. And there is something else that has the National Crime Agency puzzled. A single character carved into a nearby tree.
Newly promoted to the NCA's Behavioural Sciences Unit, Senior Investigator Joanne Stuart is determined to hunt down the perpetrator. Just as Jo's investigation begins to reveal links with other disappearances, there is another murder. This is no longer a cold case; she is dealing with the escalating violence of a chilling serial killer.
Stepping into a sinister world of secrets, symbols, and rituals, Jo will have to confront the legacy of her own past and the violent memories that lurk there if she is going to solve this case. But at what cost?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Well paced and amount of detail

This was an enjoyable listen, as far as true crime can be enjoyed. The story had enough detail I could picture what was going on, but not so much I felt bogged down. As it unfolded it was pretty easy to guess what would happen, but not annoyingly so. The narrator has a pleasant voice and accent, and of course the fun foreign phrases! I would recommend this book, author, and narrator.
Read full review

- The Rancher's Wife

A Great Spinoff from Rogers' DCI Tom Caton Series

This is my once-a-year non-sci-fi review. If you like British police procedurals, and particularly if you like Manchester -- you will like this female-lead spinoff from Rogers' DCI Tom Caton Manchester series. Although this could be read on its own, it does reference back to that series:

The Cleansing (2009)
The Head Case (2009)
The Tiger's Cave (2010)
A Fatal Intervention (2010)
Bluebell Hollow (2010)
A Trace of Blood (2011)
The Frozen Contract (2012)
Backwash (2013)
A Venetian Moon (2013)

Jo has moved from the Manchester force to the NCA -- And the good news is that there is already a second book.
Read full review

- C. Hartmann

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-27-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio