The Pale Horse : Ariadne Oliver

  • by Agatha Christie
  • Narrated by Hugh Fraser
  • Series: Ariadne Oliver
  • 6 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When an elderly priest is murdered, the killer searches the victim so roughly that his already ragged cassock is torn in the process. What was the killer looking for? And what had a dying woman confided to the priest on her deathbed only hours earlier?
Mark Easterbrook and his sidekick, Ginger Corrigan, are determined to find out. Maybe the three women who run The Pale Horse public house - and who are rumored to practice the "Dark Arts" - can provide some answers....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A bit of the paranormal to muddy the waters

This is not a typical Agatha Christie, not just because it doesn't involve one Poirot, Hastings, or Marple, but because it involves some characters dabbling in the paranormal. Usually Christie is all about very human actions and emotions, but here several of the characters in the small English village believe and are involved in connecting with the other world, through mediums, seances, and animal sacrifices. Not that they really are paranormal, of course, and there's a very human solution to it all, but those characters play a major role (not just for minor amusement).

It was slow to get into, but in the end I enjoyed it very much. Hugh Fraser was, as always, wonderful.
Read full review

- Calliope

Good Story but not her best

What made the experience of listening to The Pale Horse the most enjoyable?

Finding the meaning of the Pale Horse was probably the most interesting part of the book

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Not really

Have you listened to any of Hugh Fraser’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

One cannot blame Hugh Frazier for his performance. He didn't have the best story to work with

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?


Any additional comments?

Might read it again to see if I missed any redeeming parts of the story

Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-03-2012
  • Publisher: HarperAudio