Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.98

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the author described by The Times as 'the most remarkable historian of our time', this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel, perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.
December 1348: With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries - living each one of their remaining days 99 years after the last.
John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.
As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the listener travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out - can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?
©2017 Ian Mortimer (P)2017 Simon & Schuster UK
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By David J. Carpenter on 08-02-17

Brilliant

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book. The authors use of language is outstanding and the unfolding story really immerses you in the different time periods. Rather sentimental of me I know, but I was really moved by the ending.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful


By Sheila on 08-23-17

Compelling and Thought Provoking

I really loved this book. What is a good deeld? So many ethical dilemmas inside a thoroughly entertaining story. I found it hard to put down. Excellent narrator. Author did well to maintain the main character's believability and authenticity. Just a couple of forgiveable slips, otherwise brilliant. For me he made the different periods in history come to life. Thorighky recommend this book.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc