The Orphanmaster

  • by Jean Zimmerman
  • Narrated by George Guidall
  • 15 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From a debut novelist, a gripping historical thriller and rousing love story set in 17th-century Manhattan.
It’s 1663 in the tiny, hardscrabble Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, now present-day southern Manhattan. Orphan children are going missing, and among those looking into the mysterious state of affairs are a quick-witted 22-year-old trader, Blandine von Couvering, herself an orphan, and a dashing British spy named Edward Drummond.
Suspects abound, including the governor’s wealthy nephew, a green-eyed aristocrat with decadent tastes; an Algonquin trapper who may be possessed by a demon that turns people into cannibals; and the colony’s own corrupt and conflicted orphanmaster. Both the search for the killer and Edward and Blandine’s newfound romance are endangered, however, when Blandine is accused of being a witch and Edward is sentenced to hang for espionage. Meanwhile, war looms as the English king plans to wrest control of the colony.
Jean Zimmerman brings New Amsterdam and its surrounding wilderness alive for modern-day readers with exacting period detail. Lively, fast paced, and full of colorful characters, The Orphanmaster is a dramatic page-turner that will appeal to fans of Hilary Mantel and Geraldine Brooks.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Failure to Launch.

I really struggle with the idea of submitting a review if I didn't finish a book; if you don't listen to the whole thing, then you don't really know the whole story. Still, after spending a credit I can't get back, I did want to leave some feedback for other listeners.

Please listen carefully to the full length of the sample provided, and keep in mind that in my opinion, that was one of the only passages that provided a clear story moving forward. If the sample makes you glaze over a little, I don't think you'll find anything further into the book that becomes more dynamic, easier to follow, or more enjoyable. This sample is the best of the book.

The narrator keeps a very even tone, and it makes it difficult to know when a scene is changing or a point of view is shifting - which happens very often, moving from person to person with no warning. Many of the characters are Native American or Dutch, so the names, terms and language used are foreign; and they are referenced so quickly that it makes the book hard to follow or get attached to.

Listening and trying to get into this story felt more like work than enjoyment, and I kept holding out for things to click into place and start to gel; but it never happened for me. Finally, after realizing how disappointed I was that I was loosing my whole Sunday, slugging through what now felt more like a job than a story, I gave myself permission to admit this book was not for me.

I am sure this book is a perfect fit for some readers, who will love it and find this story fascinating. I just wanted to encourage people to really pay attention to the sample clip, and understand that's what you're getting for the long haul.
Read full review

- Amanda "I rate as follows: 5 Stars = Loved it. 4 Stars = Really liked it. 3 Stars = Liked it. 2 Stars = Didn't like it. 1 Star = Hated it."

Bizarre at times

In the young New Netherlands colony, orphans are disappearing. The evidence recovered suggests some may have even been partially eaten. The leading theory is a Native American beast who consumes children. Terrifying an entire community, but irrevocably changing the town’s Orphanmaster, a she-merchant and an English spy hunting fugitives.

For such a dark story, I was surprised at how well it was researched. In fact some of the chapters open with headlines. You get a good sense of the politics, social protocol and economic feel of the time period. You can’t help but come away with a better understanding of the origins of Manhattan.

Some warnings:
-The story is gruesome throughout
-The story’s romance is contrived. It feels sort of forced amongst the rest of the subject matter.
- There are also many narrators telling the story. They are all pretty roughly sketched (but eerily memorable). The collective tells the story of the colony and it’s time more than any one character. The timeline isn’t fluid either. At times this ensures the reader is lost, and that the author may even be employing the confusion.

So it’s not for everyone. But if you keep to it, the novel really picks up momentum towards the end of the story and even becomes focused.

The novel’s narrator George Guidall was perfect. He reads the entire novel as if he’s voicing over a movie trailer. I will definitely be on the lookout for more performances from him.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-19-2012
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio