Regular price: $20.68

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.68

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

How far would you go to save your reputation? The stunning new noir thriller from the author of the best-selling The Missing One and The Other Child. Perfect for fans of I Let You Go and The Ice Twins.
Professor Olivia Sweetman has worked hard to achieve the life she loves, with a high-flying career as a TV presenter and historian, three children and a talented husband. But as she stands before a crowd at the launch of her new best seller, she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into deceit, and if the truth comes out, she will lose everything.
Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward 60-year-old housekeeper of a Sussex manor who found the Victorian diary on which Olivia's book is based. She has now become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. And Vivian has secrets of her own.
As events move between London, Sussex and the idyllic south of France, the relationship between these two women grows more entangled and complex. Then a bizarre act of violence changes everything.
The Night Visitor is a compelling exploration of ambition, morality and deception that asks the question: how far would you go to save your reputation?
©2017 Lucy Atkins (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd.
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By DartmoorDiva on 07-31-17

Excellent

I enjoyed this novel very much. Well written, well plotted, I felt the characters were very three dimensional. My only complaint was the narrator playing Olivia - a very irritating semi-gabbling way of talking. I found it very distracting, had the novel not been so good I would probably have given up.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful


By the typist on 07-30-17

Good story marred by poor narration and audio

This novel has all my favourite ingredients: mystery, darkness, a literary feel and more than a few twists and turns. It should have been a five star read but for some reason it never really quite got there. I blame much of this on the dreadful, screeching narration by the actress who read Olivia but there was also an overarching feel that we'd been here before - with Notes on Scandal, which is a far superior piece of writing. That said, it was still an enjoyable (if predictable) read.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc