• The New Adventures of Ellery Queen

  • The Ellery Queen Mysteries, Book 1940
  • By: Ellery Queen
  • Narrated by: Robert Fass
  • Series: Ellery Queen
  • Length: 10 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Release date: 11-19-15
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.3 (19 ratings)

Regular price: $24.47

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Trick I - The first thing to vanish is a worthless doorstop. Then, in the twinkling of an eye, goes its rich and elderly owner. And, for the grand finale, both reappear - each as dead as the other.
Trick II - From the House of Darkness issues more bafflement. In total darkness and from a distance of 12 feet, four bullets are pumped within an inch of each other into a spectator's back - a feat utterly impossible to perform yet brazenly and undeniably done.
Trick III - The piece de resistance. This time it's an entire house, a real house, a solid house, which Ellery Queen had been in only the day before...vanished from the face of the Earth. And in its place emerges one of the most incredible conundrums ever to face the master crime solver.
Encores - The New Adventures of Ellery Queen is a classic collection of eight short mysteries and a remarkable short novel. First published in 1940, it has sold more than one million copies and continues to be "as good as they come" (New York Times). Stories include "The Lamp of God", "The Treasure Hunt", "The Hollow Dragon", "The House of Darkness", "The Bleeding Portrait", "Man Bites Dog", "Long Shot", "Mind over Matter", and "The Trojan Horse".
©1940 Frederick A. Stokes Company. © renewed by Ellery Queen (P)2015 Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jerri on 02-20-16

Love it

Great stories. I really enjoy the clean and intriguing stories from Ellery Queen, especially when its in a collection.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Catherine Brooks on 04-26-16

Good inventive stories.

Good inventive stories. very nice characterization Brother Leader. Nice voice change for each character and there were a lot of characters.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc