The Mystery of a Butcher's Shop : Mrs. Bradley

  • by Gladys Mitchell
  • Narrated by Patience Tomlinson
  • Series: Mrs. Bradley
  • 8 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When Rupert Sethleigh’s body is found one morning, laid out in the village butcher’s shop and minus its head, the inhabitants of Wandles Parva aren’t particularly upset. Sethleigh was a blackmailing money lender and when Mrs Bradley begins her investigation she finds no shortage of suspects.
It soon transpires that most of the village seem to have been wandering about Manor Woods, home of the mysterious druidic stone on which Sethleigh’s blood is found splashed, on the night he was murdered. But can she eliminate the red herrings and catch the real killer?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

classic golden age mystery

Would you consider the audio edition of The Mystery of a Butcher's Shop to be better than the print version?

Not as well known as Agatha Christie, Josephine Tey or Dorothy Sayers; Gladys Mitchell but a classic golden age mystery writer and story teller. Featuring Dame Beatrice Lestrade Bradley, forensic psychologist and aquited murderess, the mysteries can be a little uneven. However the wonderfully excentric Dame Beatrice is always worth a visit. Gladys Mitchell uses the British countryside and fokelore to add fasinating layers. The Mys of the Butcher's Shop is one of her early and better stories. Well narrated, it was a pleasure. Gladies Mitchell wrote 66 mysteries, under her own name, hopefully many will be translated into an audio version.

Read full review

- Luci Zahray

Didn't work out for me

I ended up bailing on this one after a couple of hours. Mrs. Bradley herself had barely appeared, and wasn't that interesting once she did - if you're expecting Diana Rigg here, fuhgeddaboutit. Instead, we're introduced to several local characters who are largely ... overdone by the narrator to the point where I found them an irritating lot.
Read full review

- John S.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-07-2012
  • Publisher: Soundings