Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.98

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

You think you know the truth about the people you love. But one discovery can change everything....
Eight-year-old Billy goes missing one day, out flying his kite with his sister Rose. Two days later he is found dead.
Sixteen years on, Rose still blames herself for Billy's death. How could she have failed to protect her little brother? Rose has never fully recovered from the trauma, and one of the few people she trusts is her neighbour Ronnie, whom she has known all her life. But one day Ronnie falls ill, and Rose goes next door to help him...and what she finds in his attic room turns her world upside down.
Rose thought she knew the truth about what happened to Billy. She thought she knew her neighbour. Now the only thing she knows is that she is in danger....
The Mistake is a completely gripping thriller that will keep you up all night, from the top 10 best-selling author of Blink, Liar and Safe with Me. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.
©2017 K. L. Slater (P)2017 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By T. West on 12-03-17

How much do we really know about the ones we love?

I loved this story. It starts with a young, naive girl who falls for the first boy who shows her attention. His manipulation slowly makes her distance herself from her family and friends. Then when something bad happens, he’s the one they blame. But is he really guilty? Just when I thought I had it figured out, the end threw me for a loop. I read/listened to this book in just a few days because I just couldn’t put it down!

Read More Hide me

18 of 18 people found this review helpful


By Loves2Read on 12-20-17

Lots of mistakes by main character.....

This is worth the credit as it was suspenseful and I really liked the very end. However (spoiler alert) I did want to throttle the main character through most of the book for being so meek, naive, and obtuse.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By michelle christie on 11-29-17

great listen

I really enjoyed this book. the story flowed and seemed to happen quite organically. Not entirely unbelievable

Read More Hide me

7 of 8 people found this review helpful


By Simon on 12-01-17

A Tragic Coming of Age

K L Slater is making a name for herself writing what I would describe as relatively low-key psychological dramas and infusing them with quality writing and believable characters. This one is no exception, the whole thing revolves around the death of a young boy and the flawed relationships that surrounded his life in an old pit village.

It's a dual timeline story split between the present day and the events leading up to the tragedy some sixteen years earlier. Rose, a slightly awkward teenager struggling to come of age meets an older man Gareth triggering a tragic series of events. It's a very human drama, it's not full of action and it doesn't have any real blood or gore and minimal violence.

Powered by Lucy Price-Lewis;s classy narration it's a listen that simply washes over you with quality writing. Price-Lewis is a smooth and classy performer though judging by her accents in this one I think she should probably avoid books set down under!

In all I'd rate this more a drama than an out and out thriller but it kept me entertained in a smooth and accomplished fashion. It signals the danger of controlling relationships particularly set against the hardships felt by former mining communities. It's say the other side of what most young people might have faced compared to Billy Elliot!

No hesitation in recommending it if you like low-key mystery thrillers based on flawed human relationships.

Read More Hide me

8 of 10 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Anonymous User on 01-19-18

Boring

the writer dragged it too much. too many repeats . too many unnecessary details. she tried to add a twist in to the story and miserably failed. focused on too many random characters that played no role in the story.
performance was good tho. but i wont recommend it.

Read More Hide me

By Laurina on 01-15-18

Legend !

KL Slater - you are a legend writer - I did not see this one coming ..........

This is a fantastic book to listen to..... if you love thriller , murder and awesome revenge .....you need to listen to this !!!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc