Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.98

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

You think you know the truth about the people you love. But one discovery can change everything....
Eight-year-old Billy goes missing one day, out flying his kite with his sister Rose. Two days later he is found dead.
Sixteen years on, Rose still blames herself for Billy's death. How could she have failed to protect her little brother? Rose has never fully recovered from the trauma, and one of the few people she trusts is her neighbour Ronnie, whom she has known all her life. But one day Ronnie falls ill, and Rose goes next door to help him...and what she finds in his attic room turns her world upside down.
Rose thought she knew the truth about what happened to Billy. She thought she knew her neighbour. Now the only thing she knows is that she is in danger....
The Mistake is a completely gripping thriller that will keep you up all night, from the top 10 best-selling author of Blink, Liar and Safe with Me. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.
©2017 K. L. Slater (P)2017 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By T. West on 12-03-17

How much do we really know about the ones we love?

I loved this story. It starts with a young, naive girl who falls for the first boy who shows her attention. His manipulation slowly makes her distance herself from her family and friends. Then when something bad happens, he’s the one they blame. But is he really guilty? Just when I thought I had it figured out, the end threw me for a loop. I read/listened to this book in just a few days because I just couldn’t put it down!

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful


By Wendi on 12-02-17

Couldn't Wait To Continue Listening

K.L. Slater is definitely one of my favourite authors. Does she have a rhythm to her novels? Yes. Does she follow a formula? Yes. After reading her books do you come to know what to expect? Yes. Are all of these things good when combined? Absolutely!

The Mistake deals with Rose, 16 years ago and present. Her brother was abducted and murdered, and her best friend was raped, and she had a horrible boyfriend experience around 16 years ago. Presently she is rather depressed and alone in the world with a job that's hanging by a thread. Her whole world becomes unraveled when she finds a key piece of evidence in her brother's murder which doesn't point to the suspect who was convicted of the crime.

Lucy Price Lewis does an amazing job as narrator of this psychological thriller which doesn't disappoint. I was engulfed in the story from beginning to end. I will look forward to her next thriller!

-Wendi

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Simon on 12-01-17

A Tragic Coming of Age

K L Slater is making a name for herself writing what I would describe as relatively low-key psychological dramas and infusing them with quality writing and believable characters. This one is no exception, the whole thing revolves around the death of a young boy and the flawed relationships that surrounded his life in an old pit village.

It's a dual timeline story split between the present day and the events leading up to the tragedy some sixteen years earlier. Rose, a slightly awkward teenager struggling to come of age meets an older man Gareth triggering a tragic series of events. It's a very human drama, it's not full of action and it doesn't have any real blood or gore and minimal violence.

Powered by Lucy Price-Lewis;s classy narration it's a listen that simply washes over you with quality writing. Price-Lewis is a smooth and classy performer though judging by her accents in this one I think she should probably avoid books set down under!

In all I'd rate this more a drama than an out and out thriller but it kept me entertained in a smooth and accomplished fashion. It signals the danger of controlling relationships particularly set against the hardships felt by former mining communities. It's say the other side of what most young people might have faced compared to Billy Elliot!

No hesitation in recommending it if you like low-key mystery thrillers based on flawed human relationships.

Read More Hide me

6 of 7 people found this review helpful


By michelle christie on 11-29-17

great listen

I really enjoyed this book. the story flowed and seemed to happen quite organically. Not entirely unbelievable

Read More Hide me

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews