Regular price: $15.98

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.98

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

You think you know the truth about the people you love. But one discovery can change everything....
Eight-year-old Billy goes missing one day, out flying his kite with his sister Rose. Two days later he is found dead.
Sixteen years on, Rose still blames herself for Billy's death. How could she have failed to protect her little brother? Rose has never fully recovered from the trauma, and one of the few people she trusts is her neighbour Ronnie, whom she has known all her life. But one day Ronnie falls ill, and Rose goes next door to help him...and what she finds in his attic room turns her world upside down.
Rose thought she knew the truth about what happened to Billy. She thought she knew her neighbour. Now the only thing she knows is that she is in danger....
The Mistake is a completely gripping thriller that will keep you up all night, from the top 10 best-selling author of Blink, Liar and Safe with Me. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.
©2017 K. L. Slater (P)2017 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By T. West on 12-03-17

How much do we really know about the ones we love?

I loved this story. It starts with a young, naive girl who falls for the first boy who shows her attention. His manipulation slowly makes her distance herself from her family and friends. Then when something bad happens, he’s the one they blame. But is he really guilty? Just when I thought I had it figured out, the end threw me for a loop. I read/listened to this book in just a few days because I just couldn’t put it down!

Read More Hide me

76 of 80 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Monkey-sue on 12-10-17

it was worth it

there were times when I found the main character to be annoying... And it was a little confusing at first with the going back and jumping forward.... but in the end it was a good story. I would definitely read more from this writer and I would definitely like to hear more from this narrator.

Read More Hide me

53 of 56 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Janet biglari on 12-07-17

Disappointing

I have a real problem with the females in K L Slater's books, they are so spineless and portrayed as helpless victims. Rose in this latest book needed a shake, she was so wet I got totally fed up of the dialogue which was on a loop about her she was disempowered and helpless. I think I will give this author a miss in future unless some more gutsy females are portrayed.

In spite of the characters I thought the narration was good, and I did enjoy the twist at the end.

Read More Hide me

30 of 35 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Simon on 12-01-17

A Tragic Coming of Age

K L Slater is making a name for herself writing what I would describe as relatively low-key psychological dramas and infusing them with quality writing and believable characters. This one is no exception, the whole thing revolves around the death of a young boy and the flawed relationships that surrounded his life in an old pit village.

It's a dual timeline story split between the present day and the events leading up to the tragedy some sixteen years earlier. Rose, a slightly awkward teenager struggling to come of age meets an older man Gareth triggering a tragic series of events. It's a very human drama, it's not full of action and it doesn't have any real blood or gore and minimal violence.

Powered by Lucy Price-Lewis;s classy narration it's a listen that simply washes over you with quality writing. Price-Lewis is a smooth and classy performer though judging by her accents in this one I think she should probably avoid books set down under!

In all I'd rate this more a drama than an out and out thriller but it kept me entertained in a smooth and accomplished fashion. It signals the danger of controlling relationships particularly set against the hardships felt by former mining communities. It's say the other side of what most young people might have faced compared to Billy Elliot!

No hesitation in recommending it if you like low-key mystery thrillers based on flawed human relationships.

Read More Hide me

33 of 39 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Geneva Batten on 04-10-18

Overall a good read!

An interesting storyline with a likeable protagonist. Unfortunately the Australian accent used for one character is absolutely horrendous and cringeworthy to listen to! (The character wouldn't even have an Australian accent, having moved there as an adult...).

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Anonymous User on 06-06-18

Compelling; satisfying.

Narrator character-voicings a little annoying (particularly high-pitched re. child characters!), but plot compelling; a satisfying listen.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc