Regular price: $31.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Lee Child, Terry Hayes, and Laura Lippman comes a blistering thriller in which Vanessa Michael Munroe faces the fight of her life.
Vanessa Michael Munroe, chameleon and information hunter, has a reputation for getting things done: dangerous and not quite legal things that have taken her undercover into some of the world's deadliest places. Still healing from a Somali hijacking gone wrong and a brutal attack that left her near death, Munroe joins her lover, Miles Bradford, in Japan, where he's working as a security consultant protecting high-value technology from industrial espionage. In the domesticity of their routine, she finds long sought-after peace - until Bradford is arrested for murder, and the same interests who targeted him come after her, too.
Searching for answers and fighting to stay alive, Munroe will soon discover how far she'll go to save Bradford from spending the next 20 years in locked-up isolation; how many laws she'll break when the truth seems worse than his lies; and who to trust and who she must kill. Because she's a strategist and hunter with a predator's instincts, and the man she loves has just stabbed her in the back.
With break-neck pacing, incendiary prose, and an unforgettable cast of characters, The Mask features Vanessa Michael Munroe: a brilliant, lethal heroine who will stop at nothing to find the truth, no matter what it may cost.
©2015 Taylor Stevens (P)2015 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Munroe is a sensational character and Stevens is a sensational writer." (Lee Child, New York Times best-selling author of the Jack Reacher series)
"Stevens excels at depicting pulse-pounding danger, and her prose and plotting are spectacular....Only Dan Brown and Lee Child come close." (Dallas Morning News)
"[Munroe is] a protagonist as deadly as she is irresistible." (Vince Flynn)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Jessica on 09-06-15

Another fabulous Munroe story

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Like each of the Munroe novels since the first one (The Informationist), the plot of "The Mask" is rich, intriguing, keeps you guessing, and makes sense. Having lived in Japan, I can also affirm that the setting is well-developed and authentic. I'm particularly impressed that Taylor Stevens consistently creates stories that maintain this level of quality.

What does Hillary Huber bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

I mostly listen to audiobooks for convenience, so I can listen while commuting, running, etc. But there are audiobooks and there are audiobooks, and Hillary Huber's are definitely in the highest class.

Read More Hide me

By Brian G. Hart on 07-31-15

Japan interest

So glad I found this series. Strong woman. Read the first book to help shape the relationship first

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc