The Lovers

  • by John Connolly
  • Narrated by Jay O. Sanders
  • 5 hrs and 38 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Charlie Parker is a lost soul. Deprived of his private investigator's license and under scrutiny by the police, Parker takes a job in a Portland bar. But he uses his enforced retirement to begin a different kind of investigation: an examination of his own past and an inquiry into the death of his father, who took his own life after apparently shooting dead two unarmed teenagers. It's a search that will eventually lead Parker to question all that he believed about his beloved parents, and about himself.But there are other forces at work: a troubled young woman who is running from an unseen threat, one that has already taken the life of her boyfriend; and a journalist-turned-writer named Mickey Wallace, who is conducting an investigation of his own. And haunting the shadows, as they have done throughout Parker's life, are two figures: a man and a woman who seem driven to bring an end to Charlie Parker's existence.Haunting, lyrical, and impossible to put down, The Lovers is John Connolly at his best.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Abridged version cheats reader

I give this 3 stars not because it isn't good, but because it's abridged. Connolly is such a wonderful writer that abridging his books ought to be illegal. If you've never read Connolly's work, do yourself a favor and buy the unabridged printed book. You don't want to miss a word.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

John Connolly Does it Again...Love Charlie Parker

What made the experience of listening to The Lovers the most enjoyable?

The narrator. Jay O. Sanders is awesome and enthralling in his performance in reading these stories. I feel he is one of the best reading the Charlie Parker books. He differentiates characters and has a lovely voice.

What did you like best about this story?

All of it.

What about Jay O. Sanders’s performance did you like?

All of it.

Read full review

- bluenicola

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-02-2009
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio