The Lost Empress : Jefferson Tayte Genealogical Mysteries

  • by Steve Robinson
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • Series: Jefferson Tayte Genealogical Mysteries
  • 9 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From acclaimed author Steve Robinson comes a bold new Jefferson Tayte mystery.
On a foggy night in 1914, the ocean liner Empress of Ireland sank en route to England and now lies at the bottom of Canada’s St Lawrence River. The disaster saw a loss of life comparable to the Titanic and the Lusitania, and yet her tragedy has been forgotten.
When genealogist Jefferson Tayte is shown a locket belonging to one of the Empress' victims, a British admiral’s daughter named Alice Stilwell, he must travel to England to understand the course of events that led to her death.
Tayte is expert in tracking killers across centuries. In The Lost Empress, his unique talents draw him to one of the greatest tragedies in maritime history as he unravels the truth behind Alice’s death amidst a backdrop of pre-WWI espionage.
This is the fourth book in the Jefferson Tayte mystery series, but can be enjoyed as a stand-alone story.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Love this series!

Lots of twists and turns, and a few surprises at the end.
Narration is wonderful. Each book gets better and better. Looking forward to the next one. Glad to find out there are at least 2 more in the series.
Highly recommended!
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Terrific Series!

If you could sum up The Lost Empress in three words, what would they be?

Fantastc historical mysteries!

Who was your favorite character and why?

Jefferson Tate. His problem solving skills, historical research within the stories and putting all the pieces together while being a likeable, slightly eccentric main character. All created by the very creative author!

Which character – as performed by Simon Vance – was your favorite?

All of them as Simon Vance is a truly top notch narrator and one of my personal favorites!

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

There are always at least several cliff hanging moments in the Jefferson Tate series. Author Steve Robinson's alternating writing style of setting up chapters in the present and the past adds to the suspense. Add to that a splash of wry humor and you have great books that keep you riveted to the stories. In this particular book, there was one scene that was very sad for one of the main characters when you find out who is really behind the misery suffered. Don't want to give it away for those who haven't read thi book yet.

Any additional comments?

I can't say it enough how much I love this series, as well as narration by Simon Vance who deftly brings all of the characters to life as he always does.

Read full review

- MTmind1979

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-21-2014
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio