Regular price: $15.45

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.45

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg’s new psychological thriller – irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.
On a late summer’s night, a young woman jumps in her car, her hands slippery with blood on the steering wheel. Taking her five-year-old son, Nathalie flees to the only safe haven she knows: the island of Gråskär off the coast of Fjällbacka…
Meanwhile, Detective Patrik Hedström has barely stepped foot inside his office following a lengthy sick leave before he catches a murder investigation.
A man has been murdered in his home: the victim, Mats Sverin, was the council’s financial director, heading up a regeneration project worth millions. But when Patrik and his team start digging into the dead man’s life, all they can uncover is unanswered questions. Why was Mats in such a rush to return to his home town of Fjällbacka after years in Gothenburg? And is it pure coincidence that Mats’s childhood sweetheart Nathalie has also suddenly returned to the area? Mats visited Nathalie on Gråskär before his death.
The locals call the island ‘The Ghost Isle’ – they say that it’s haunted, and that the dead have something to tell the living. But will anyone get close enough to uncover the dark secrets that lurk there?
©2013 Camilla Lackberg (P)2013 Harper Collins Publishers Ltd
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Jeanette on 04-23-13

disappointing

What would have made Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck (7) – The Lost Boy better?

I wonder if the translation to English lost much of the impact. I found the constant use of common similes and metaphors childish and infuriating.

The story itself was gripping - but I struggled to continue listening as the writing constantly annoyed me.

I also did not like the narration - the tone varied between condescending and pathetic - not enough variation for other compex characters again - most annoying

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The relationship between the "now" and "then" - which had me trying to work out the connection.

Re reference to parts already told. Did the writer think I couldn't remember?

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Robin Bowerman?

Sean Barratt

What character would you cut from Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck (7) – The Lost Boy?

The Super - time he went!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Dragon on 05-06-13

Not her best

This one has all Lackberg's strangely compelling, page-turning feel to it (this translates well into audiobook - one does want to keep listening). Her writing is not always very literary and can seem clumsy at times, but it seems sincere, as though she really has something to say, and therefore holds the attention. The reading is very good.

There is a modern murder (grim), a historical disappearance (also fairly grim), and a modern family drama (unremittingly tragic). There are some other sub-plots as well, and none of those is a barrel of laughs. Lackberg keeps the attention well focussed on all these as the story rolls along, and I did much enjoy the company of the detectives bumbling through the case as they unfold the modern mysteries.

Two big problems for me (1) the modern mystery is just too obvious, I had it very early on, and after a long listen the denouement did not add much (unlike her other books) (2) it was all way too depressing, and pretty much every one of the interwoven stories started and ended glum.

In some of Lackberg's other books there is a more even balance between light and dark, and they are better for it.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Eva Kokovai on 07-26-17

disappointed

I love her books, but with this was a bit l have to write a book feel to it. Just, no

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc