The Last Winter of Dani Lancing

  • by P. D. Viner
  • Narrated by Various
  • 11 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Tana French and The Silent Wife, The Last Winter of Dani Lancing is a chilling debut thriller hailed by Sophie Hannah as "brilliant" about one murder's devastating ripple effects.
Twenty years ago, college student Dani Lancing was kidnapped and brutally murdered. The killer was never found. Dani's family never found peace.
Thrust into an intense devastation that nearly destroys their marriage, Patty and Jim Lancing struggle to deal with their harrowing loss. Patty is fanatically obsessed with the cold case; consumed by every possible clue or suspect no matter how far-fetched, she goes to horrifying lengths to help clarify the past. Meanwhile, Jim has become a shell of his former self, broken down and haunted - sometimes literally - by his young daughter's death. Dani's childhood sweetheart, Tom, handles his own grief every day on the job - he's become a detective intent on solving murders of other young women, and hopes to one day close Dani's case himself.
Then everything changes when Tom finds a promising new lead. As lies and secrets are unearthed, the heartbreaking truth behind Dani's murder is finally revealed.
The Last Winter of Dani Lancing is a shockingly disturbing and deeply powerful debut, and P.D. Viner immediately joins the ranks of Tana French, A. S. A. Harrison, and Gillian Flynn.

More

What the Critics Say

"Brilliant! P. D. Viner's writing is audacious, clever and bold. I think he’ll go far." (Sophie Hannah, author of The Wrong Mother)
"An exciting thriller that is also deeply moving. A hugely impressive debut." (Mark Billingham, author of Rush of Blood)
"Inventive, clever, and beautifully written. This novel of a single crime's ripple effects on the survivors is told with ingenious plotting and rich, true characters. A bold and impressive debut." (Ace Atkins, New York Times best-selling author of The Broken Places)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not worth my free credit

I would be upset had I actually paid for this book but haven't wasted my credit was bad enough. Too convoluted, too many flashbacks, fantastical representations of human character and psychology: a bloodthirsty, deviate, psychopathic drug dealer would disembowel the main hero(policeman) in real life; instead he lets him go with free drugs to plant on somebody, teaches him how to administer drugs to somebody and make it look like they are a habitual user. Or, the conflict between mother and a 13 year old Dani is completely baseless. Or, why does she become an addict is not believable. Tom is the only person who could actually be believable as murderer because of his semi-developed, almost psychotic love for Dani. The novel is at best banal.
Read full review

- Apurva Rajkotia

Unlistenable

This is recorded more like a radio play than an audiobook. The multiple voices and sound effects are horrid, so bad it was unlistenable. So I can't fairly rate the story, because I couldn't make it past the first 45 minutes.
Read full review

- Emily

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-08-2013
  • Publisher: Random House Audio