The Last Pilgrim : The Tommy Bergmann Series

  • by Gard Sveen, Steven Murray - translator
  • Narrated by Christopher Lane
  • Series: The Tommy Bergmann Series
  • 16 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Young, lovely Norwegian Agnes Gerner is waging a dangerous and secret fight. Outwardly, she is a devoted Nazi sympathizer engaged to a prominent businessman. In fact, she is part of an underground resistance doing everything to win the war against the Germans. The only hope she has of being reunited with the man she truly loves - who serves under the code name "Pilgrim" - is if the Nazis are defeated. Of course, there's no guarantee that she'll be alive when that happens....
Many years later, three sets of remains are found in a popular Oslo forest - two adults and a child. Despite his boss's call to not spend extra time on the old case, Detective Tommy Bergmann cannot help but dig deeper, especially as he uncovers connections to a more recent murder. As he unravels the secrets of the past, it becomes clear that everything is permissible in war - and that only those who reject love can come out victorious.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not the book it claims

This is NOT the story of a woman caught up in the intrigue and violence of WWII Norway! Instead it is the VERY depressing story of a bumbling, incompetent, wife beating detective in modern day Norway trying to solve a murder. Very scattered dialogue, poor plot development, barely average narration. I can not recommend this book at all. I also feel deceived by the synopsis shuck "tricked" me into buying it in the first place
Read full review

- Sally Filler

Norwegian Resistance mystery

Initially I felt the book was a little hard to get into, however with a little patience in letting the author introduce the reader/listener to the various settings and characters I found this to be one of the best mystery WWII resistance stories I have ever read. Very powerful!
Read full review

- Lyn

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-23-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio