The Labyrinth Makers

  • by Anthony Price
  • Narrated by Simon Schatzberger
  • 7 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Winner of the Crime Writers’ Association Silver Dagger.
When an RAF Dakota, presumed lost at sea in 1945, is discovered in a drained lake in Lincolnshire, together with its pilot and a cargo of worthless rubble, it falls to David Audley of the MOD to puzzle out just why the Russians are so interested in the discovery - and what the plane was carrying that is important enough to kill for.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good place to start.

The stories in the series dip back and forward through time and follow different characters.
After doing my usual search I did find the chronological order of writing.

(1971) The Labyrinth Makers;
The Alamut Ambush (1972)
Colonel Butler's Wolf (1972)
October Men (1973)
(1975) Other Paths to Glory
Our Man in Camelot (1975)
War Game (1977)
The '44 Vintage (1978)
Tomorrow's Ghost (1979)
The Hour of the Donkey (1980)
Soldier No More (1981)
The Old Vengeful (1982)
Gunner Kelly (1983)
Sion Crossing (1984)
Here Be Monsters (1985)
For the Good of the State (1986)
A New Kind of War (1987)
A Prospect of Vengeance (1988)
The Memory Trap (1989

I also learned there are a few good entry points, so I started at 'The Hour of the Donkey' and it does really seem that each is a stand alone story.

As Audible has all 19 books, this one is also a good starting point. Simon Schatzsberger does read very well and I am following the books he reads, first.
As a series I really like them, because they do move in time and central characters.
I did enjoy 'The Labyrinth Makers' more than 'Other Paths to Glory' that won the Gold Dagger..
My expectation is that after hearing all 19 I am likely to go back, and yes I do anticipate I will be following Anthony Price for quite a while.

Even though the stories are fiction, I think many of the events described in the stories are based in history. They cover World War1 and 11 and the Cold War period.
Read full review

- Sandy

Cold War English Spies

New series, start with this one since audible does not have these numbered yet, I went to amazon to find out where to start. I have listened to three of these treasures before writing this review. I find these spy novels a little more accessible than Le Carre and less prurient than Littell (both of which I totally love). These novels are perhaps a little quieter and the characters deeper. Although the plots are no less intricate and satisfying. I find a bit of Ngaio Marsh and Margery Allingham here too. Please forgive the name dropping, but if description fails, simile seems to do the trick. If any of these authors appeal, and even if they don't, give this author a try, I do not think you will be disappointed.
Read full review

- Cookie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-10-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios