The Killing Hour : The FBI Profiler

  • by Lisa Gardner
  • Narrated by Anna Fields
  • Series: The FBI Profiler
  • 11 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough. Now, two girls have disappeared in the midst of a daunting heat wave. Rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy knows the killer's deadline can be met. But she'll have to break some rules in order to beat an exceedingly vicious criminal at a game he's had years to perfect.

More

What the Critics Say

"With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail, and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Captivating--it hooks you!

I love it when I find an audio book that I can't stop listening to. This is one of them. I would find myself sitting in the car in the garage just to listen to more of it. The characters are richly described and "real". You will really like Kimberly and Mac, Quincy (her father) and Raney. The settings are so well described, you can almost smell them. And above all, the plot is tight and the mystery compelling. I highly recommend this book.
Read full review

- Mina Brown

Book is EXCELLENT, Narration, not so good

I read some of the other reviews, and I agree with those who had a problem with the narrator. Her "voices" for male characters really is rather silly - sort of like a child trying to talk like a "grown up" on the phone. However, don't let this stop you from listening. Eventually, you'll get used to it, and focus on the book itself.

This has to be one of the better mystery novels I've listened to in a long while (aside from Nelson DeMille). The story was intense, graphic and rather nerve-racking in parts. The basic premise is a killer on the loose who stalks young women. He waits for them outside of a bar, lays nails near their car tires, and when they pull over for the flat, he offers to help. Once they are out of the car, he shoots them with a tranquilizer gun. He kills one girl, and plants clues on her as to where he will abandon the other. Then he leaves the other girl in a remote area with only a bottle of water and her wits to survive long enough for the detectives to find her IF they can interpret the clues correctly and in time.

The story is suspenseful and has some terrific twists. For once, I didn't figure out the killer ahead of time. Toward the end, I was crazy to know what would happen.. I couldn't stop listening to this story - bad narration or not. Give it a try and find out for yourself what a brilliant mystery writer Lisa Gardner is.
Read full review

- Eileen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-28-2004
  • Publisher: Books on Tape