Regular price: $31.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough. Now, two girls have disappeared in the midst of a daunting heat wave. Rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy knows the killer's deadline can be met. But she'll have to break some rules in order to beat an exceedingly vicious criminal at a game he's had years to perfect.
©2003 Lisa Gardner, Inc.; (P)2003 Books on Tape, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail, and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag." (Publishers Weekly)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Mina Brown on 02-20-05

Captivating--it hooks you!

I love it when I find an audio book that I can't stop listening to. This is one of them. I would find myself sitting in the car in the garage just to listen to more of it. The characters are richly described and "real". You will really like Kimberly and Mac, Quincy (her father) and Raney. The settings are so well described, you can almost smell them. And above all, the plot is tight and the mystery compelling. I highly recommend this book.

Read More Hide me

30 of 31 people found this review helpful


By Eileen on 08-23-05

Book is EXCELLENT, Narration, not so good

I read some of the other reviews, and I agree with those who had a problem with the narrator. Her "voices" for male characters really is rather silly - sort of like a child trying to talk like a "grown up" on the phone. However, don't let this stop you from listening. Eventually, you'll get used to it, and focus on the book itself.

This has to be one of the better mystery novels I've listened to in a long while (aside from Nelson DeMille). The story was intense, graphic and rather nerve-racking in parts. The basic premise is a killer on the loose who stalks young women. He waits for them outside of a bar, lays nails near their car tires, and when they pull over for the flat, he offers to help. Once they are out of the car, he shoots them with a tranquilizer gun. He kills one girl, and plants clues on her as to where he will abandon the other. Then he leaves the other girl in a remote area with only a bottle of water and her wits to survive long enough for the detectives to find her IF they can interpret the clues correctly and in time.

The story is suspenseful and has some terrific twists. For once, I didn't figure out the killer ahead of time. Toward the end, I was crazy to know what would happen.. I couldn't stop listening to this story - bad narration or not. Give it a try and find out for yourself what a brilliant mystery writer Lisa Gardner is.

Read More Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc