The Iron Horse : Detective Inspector Robert Colbeck

  • by Edward Marston
  • Narrated by Sam Dastor
  • Series: Detective Inspector Robert Colbeck
  • 8 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Derby Day at Epsom Downs and a multitude of people crowd to watch the races: dukes and dustmen, bishops and beggars, privileged ladies and prostitutes. The gamut of Victorian society, though, is also a hotbed for crime and crooks of all kinds. With the country a-flutter in the run-up to this national occasion, events reach fever pitch when a disembodied head is discovered on a passenger train at Crewe; the first in a murky course of events that takes in murder, fraud and race-fixing. Detective Robert Colbeck and his assistant are assigned to the case and are soon snarled up in a web of skulduggery stretching across the country. Soon, however, they are forced to ask themselves: just what is someone prepared to do in order to win?


What the Critics Say

"A grand romp very much in the tradition of Holmes and Watson... Packed with characters Dickens would have been proud of. Wonderful, well written." (Time Out)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Beautifully Narrated

I enjoyed this book. It is a lot of fun and the narrator is wonderful.
Read full review

- Virginia Waldron

Mix of early railroads and the English Derby

If you could sum up The Iron Horse in three words, what would they be?

Lively, interesting, great characters

What other book might you compare The Iron Horse to and why?

I have read the early books in the series and this is just as good as the first.

What about Sam Dastor???s performance did you like?

His British accent and ability to create characters makes for an excellent audio listen.

Any additional comments?

I like Edward Marston and have read many of his series. I still think his best are his Doomsday series which alas are not on audio. His historical research is meticulous and he captures the period of early railroading in England very well.

Read full review

- Judith A. Weller "jw1917"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-03-2009
  • Publisher: Audible Studios