Regular price: $17.76

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.76

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Derby Day at Epsom Downs and a multitude of people crowd to watch the races: dukes and dustmen, bishops and beggars, privileged ladies and prostitutes. The gamut of Victorian society, though, is also a hotbed for crime and crooks of all kinds. With the country a-flutter in the run-up to this national occasion, events reach fever pitch when a disembodied head is discovered on a passenger train at Crewe; the first in a murky course of events that takes in murder, fraud and race-fixing. Detective Robert Colbeck and his assistant are assigned to the case and are soon snarled up in a web of skulduggery stretching across the country. Soon, however, they are forced to ask themselves: just what is someone prepared to do in order to win?
©2007 Edward Marston; (P)2014 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"A grand romp very much in the tradition of Holmes and Watson... Packed with characters Dickens would have been proud of. Wonderful, well written." (Time Out)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Virginia Waldron on 08-30-10

Beautifully Narrated

I enjoyed this book. It is a lot of fun and the narrator is wonderful.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful


By Johnhvisser on 10-20-15

Great read without the foul language

I really enjoy these stories of the Railway Detective.
They do not require significant intelligence, but the English grammar is excellent and the stories are fun.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Learning is fun! on 06-01-16

enjoyable,easy listening mystery

I love the gentle story line and setting. Imaginative and interesting, my only criticism really is that the narrator gives every female voice a rather irritating, simpering character which is inappropriate.

Read More Hide me

By Valerie on 09-14-12

Looking forward to more

I have only recently discovered Marston and I'm already hooked on two of his series.



The Iron Horse is a Holmes and Watson style detective story complete with period sterotypes, but still thoroughly enjoyable.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews