The Iron Horse : Detective Inspector Robert Colbeck

  • by Edward Marston
  • Narrated by Sam Dastor
  • Series: Detective Inspector Robert Colbeck
  • 8 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Derby Day at Epsom Downs and a multitude of people crowd to watch the races: dukes and dustmen, bishops and beggars, privileged ladies and prostitutes. The gamut of Victorian society, though, is also a hotbed for crime and crooks of all kinds. With the country a-flutter in the run-up to this national occasion, events reach fever pitch when a disembodied head is discovered on a passenger train at Crewe; the first in a murky course of events that takes in murder, fraud and race-fixing. Detective Robert Colbeck and his assistant are assigned to the case and are soon snarled up in a web of skulduggery stretching across the country. Soon, however, they are forced to ask themselves: just what is someone prepared to do in order to win?

More

What the Critics Say

"A grand romp very much in the tradition of Holmes and Watson... Packed with characters Dickens would have been proud of. Wonderful, well written." (Time Out)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Beautifully Narrated

I enjoyed this book. It is a lot of fun and the narrator is wonderful.
Read full review

- Virginia Waldron

Great read without the foul language

I really enjoy these stories of the Railway Detective.
They do not require significant intelligence, but the English grammar is excellent and the stories are fun.
Read full review

- Johnhvisser

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-03-2009
  • Publisher: Audible Studios