Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $21.31

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of The House by Simon Lelic, read by Adam Newington and Gemma Whelan.
The perfect couple. The perfect house. The perfect crime.
The heart-stopping thriller about a husband and wife who are hiding something from each other, and from you.... This audiobook won't let you go until you've found out the truth. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Gillian Flynn and Fiona Barton.
Whose story do you believe?
Londoners Jack and Syd moved into the house a year ago. It seemed like their dream home: tons of space, the perfect location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it.
So when they made a grisly discovery in the attic, Jack and Syd chose to ignore it. That was a mistake.
Because someone has just been murdered outside their back door. And now the police are watching them.
This story is their chance....
To prove they're innocent.
Or to get away with murder.
©2017 Simon Lelic (P)2017 Penguin AudioBooks
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Hugely gripping and spooky as hell." (Mark Billingham)
"An intricate and powerful thriller." (Tana French)
"Taut, tense and terrifying, I loved it." (Sharon Bolton)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Luccia Gray on 11-20-17

Suspenseful family drama

The House is about love, life and family secrets. It's also about friendship, trust, lies, and abuse.
Syd and Jack, two apparently normal young Londoners who narrate their view of events from alternating points of view, weren't very likeable at first, which might put some readers off, but they grow into intricate and fascinating characters, which are well worth getting to know.
The plot is gradually and cleverly developed until the final, shocking twist.
Plenty of moral dilemas are brought up and although the violence isn't graphic, it is unnerving, and the ending isn't a perfect or typical one, yet I'd describe it as hopeful.
The setting in south London was a plus for me and the way the mystery behind and within the house is disclosed was well contrived.
It was a pleasure to read. The writing style is fast paced and the first person pov allows the reader to become more involved in the narrative and invested in the characters.
Especially for lovers of intense and disturbing psychological thrillers.
I listened to the audio version and enjoyed having two different narrators.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Suswati on 08-22-17

Slightly too long and a little overhyped

I actually don't know what to make it this. It drags on for far too long and could have been shortened by a good few chapters. I understand it's to create more suspense for the final reveal which wasn't that much of a mystery in the end. I expected it to have more of a horror feel, which it doesn't at all but that's the initial premise. The level of abuse is gratuitous at points and truly cringe worthy. I just don't think it was worth any hype, although it's an interesting tale nevertheless.

Read More Hide me

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 01-10-18

The House - really is a mystery

just had to keep listening. One twist and turn after another well done Simon Lelic.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc