The Hilary Manningham-Butler Mysteries

  • by Jack Treby
  • Narrated by Jack Treby, Angela Dawe
  • 17 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Book One: The Scandal at Bletchley
"I've been a scoundrel, a thief, a blackmailer and a whore, but never a murderer. Until now..."
The year is 1929. As the world teeters on the brink of a global recession, Bletchley Park plays host to a rather special event. MI5 is celebrating its twentieth anniversary and a select band of former and current employees are gathering for a weekend of music, dance and heavy drinking. Among them is Sir Hilary Manningham-Butler, a middle aged woman whose entire adult life has been spent masquerading as a man. She doesn't know why she has been invited - it is many years since she left the secret service - but it is clear she is not the only one with things to hide. And when one of the other guests threatens to expose her secret, the consequences could prove disastrous for everyone.
Book Two: The Red Zeppelin
"You'll never get me up in one of those things. They're absolutely lethal."
Seville, 1931. Six months after the loss of the British airship the R101, a German Zeppelin is coming in to land in Southern Spain.
Hilary Manningham-Butler is an MI5 operative eking out a pitiful existence on the Rock of Gibraltar. The offer of a job in the Americas provides a potential lifeline but there are strings attached. First she must prove her mettle to her masters in London and that means stepping on board the Richthofen before the airship leaves Seville.
A cache of secret documents has been stolen from Scotland Yard and the files must be recovered if British security is not to be severely compromised. Hilary must put her life on the line to discover the identity of the thief. But as the airship makes its way across the Atlantic towards Brazil it becomes clear that nobody on board is quite what they seem. And there is no guarantee that any of them will reach Rio de Janeiro alive.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fun and exciting series

I had previously read the second book in this series (The Red Zeppelin) and really liked it, so I was excited to get this collection, which contains both the first and second book together. I think that the pacing of the stories is really great - you won't be bored. The characters are interesting, especially the main character, who is a middle-aged woman masquerading as a man. That aspect of the book reminded me of "The Bullet-Catcher's Daughter" series - another series of books I enjoyed. There is quite a bit of humor, excitement, and even a few twists that I didn't expect. I listened to the Audible edition of this book. It was a little weird in that the first book was narrated by the author, Jacky Treby, and the second book was narrated by Angela Dawe. I would have liked the same narrator in the collection. It was hard having a picture in my mind of the character based on the voice of Treby, only to have it change in the second book based on Dawe's voice. Overall, this is a fun and exciting series. I can't wait to read the next book in the series.
Read full review

- Leslie F.

Kept me guessing

Would you consider the audio edition of The Hilary Manningham-Butler Mysteries to be better than the print version?

I loved the audio. It brings everything to life. I got so caught up in the story.

What other book might you compare The Hilary Manningham-Butler Mysteries to and why?

It was a lot like the Flashman novels which I adore and Agatha Christie too. The second book was quite thrillerish. I was sure I knew whodunnit but I was totally wrong.

Have you listened to any of Jack Treby and Angela Dawe ’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I have heard Angela Dawe before. She's awesome. I love the way she reads. This is the first Jack Treby Ive listened to. His voice is just so right for this story

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Look before you leap!

Read full review

- Jessica

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-23-2017
  • Publisher: Carter & Allan