The Hanging Garden : Inspector Rebus

  • by Ian Rankin
  • Narrated by Michael Page
  • Series: Inspector Rebus
  • 11 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Drugs. Extortion. Slavery. Organized crime is fighting for a hold on John Rebus's peaceful Scotland. And when Rebus rescues a young Bosnian girl forced into prostitution, he breaks a policeman's golden rule to never get personally involved in a case. Add to that the hunt for an elderly Nazi accused of slaughtering an entire French village, and Rebus wonders just how evil humans can be - until his own daughter is mortally injured as a gangland warning for him to back off. Then even a dedicated cop like Rebus might make a deal with the devil to find the culprit. Not for justice. For revenge.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

John Rebus,what can I say?

The writing is good, the narrator's good, Rebus is, well, Rebus--even when he's trying to give up alcohol.
Read full review

- Julie Jones

One Of The Best In The Series

As far as Rebus books go this is my favorite so far besides the great "The Naming of The Dead". There are a few instances where the story gets bogged down with seeming excessive dialog. However the story is intriguing and makes up for the moments that in my opinion could have been much shorter or written differently.

This book has Rebus seeking a path without the booze by his side. I found the clean living struggle interesting based on the characters history. Also a little ironic since he still smokes in this story. Like all media people will have their own opinions. For me I am a sucker for mob/gangs battling for control of a territory. As with most Rebus books there are more than one case being worked on at the same time. In this title you have a man being accused of being a ex-Nazi who fled to the UK and gangland violence with police trying to take down the leaders of each side. Overall the two word to me that describe this book are "Revenge" and "Redemption".
Read full review

- Adam Boles

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-17-2013
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio